Steem is powering down, but will they sell their steem?

in #steem6 years ago

qmcfr55br6.png

My answer is no.

I haven't written a decent article in a while now, so here is my shot at it.

1ji8o3xnmo.png

There has been a lot of controversies recently, regarding quite a number of things. We first had the issue of some dapps losing their delegations. I think at that point I became indifferent about steem and I have been trying to focus on other things. Some very promising projects like musing might die because of this. And to me, this is a more pressing issue than steemit inc powering down.

9dhlgh448l.png

After the mini-panic attacked I had after receiving the news that my favorite dapp had lost its delegation from steemit inc I headed to discord to find out more about the issue. This led to another revelation: steemit inc where powering down their stake to save in a secured wallet. The first thing that came to my mind was that we were about to be hacked and this who blockchain was no longer secured. At first, many people were of the opinion that this was an exit scam by steemit, and you know, I bought it at some point. These said group of people were leaving us for dead. It made practical sense. They have been silent for a while and there is nothing as suspicious as silence.

However, that same day I got to know about this alleged plan by some witnesses to fork out steemit ninja mined steem (is that what they call it). So basically, it's all about everyone protecting their interest. But if you ask me this is a recipe for doom. We've taken so many steps backward this week and we might have to suffer the next 3-4months because of this. Yes, the price of steem is up but for how long? Once these massive dumps start we will only go downhill.

Is steemit going to sell they stake?

I am not an authority on this issue but I think its absurd. No one willingly relinquish power and what steemit has is power, to determine how and when things happen on this platform. My two cents is: they are trying to cover for some debt or something. And they will sell as much as they can to cover this without losing a significant amount of their stake. So we might have a case in the coming weeks where certain witnesses lose their votes from steemit as more investigation will be done regarding this issue and names are going to pop up soon.

However, if you ask me, I will really like for steemit to sell all their stake, which is impossible. Imagine steem about $0.01, I probably would become an orca with just $500. And yes, that might not mean anything if the steem coin is worth nothing, but I am optimistic that it would not be the case. We have people like @theycallmedan willing to buy half of steemit inc stake if they sell, and some very power hungry individuals who will capitalize on such an opportunity if steem sells.

z2u8gtq479.png

Personally, this place has begun to bore me. I really do not know how much I can keep up at this point. I'm currently powering down as well--just for weeks and after that I might just go MIA, or try a to built my whaleshare account. The only thing keeping me here at this point is the @nathanmars project, #linkseven77 which I am part of. Asides that I'm totally indifferent about what happens on the steem blockchain these days.

It will be interesting to see how things pan out in the coming weeks. It's all speculations. That's the life wire of this entire ecosystem.

©nonsowrites

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

I don’t think they will sell anymore than they would normally do to fund their expenses and operations. They mentioned they have started to earn fiat revenue from other sources and costs to run nodes have also decreased which should bring the need to sell down. Even if they do, someone has been buying because prices are up in a flat market so we may be experiencing someone buying stake for some reason other than speculation which could be a great potential for the ecosystem. However, I share one concern as to what happens when this all divides our most valuable asset, the community.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63313.88
ETH 2629.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76