Functionality of STEEM Keys?

in #steem8 years ago

Can someone please provide in detail, the functionality that is controlled by each of the keys (owner, active, posting, memo, witness)?

Sort:  
  • owner: master key that can do everything, meant for cold storage
  • active: online key that can do everything except change owner key, more secure but not saved
  • posting: online key that can only vote and post content, less secure but good for saved logins
  • memo: key used for deriving shared secrets to encrypt private communication with
  • witness: key used for signing blocks

Succinct, yet thorough, explanation. I appreciate the breakdown and will update my keys accordingly to increase the security of my account.

Thanks Dan, I think it's important to stress just how important it is for every to secure the keys for their account. And, glad to see this was so well thought out so different functionality could be utilized would the possibility of compromising the owner key.

One very nice feature would be the ability to proxy posting votes.

I couldn't agree more! @dantheman, what say you?

If you have a lot of vests and would like to protect the active private key when voting for witnesses, then proxy your votes through a lesser account. This will protect the active private key from those who might try to divest with a compromised key.

I ask please that you see my post https://steemit.com/crowdfunding/@webocel/58kd3g-my-dream-needs-your-vote-crowdfunding, with your vote I can put my business and thus have a job and be able to feed my children. With just a few clicks you can change my life. Thanks in advance. Nicolas

For those on Windows, how can they better secure their accounts? It appears the only way to login currently is by using their private key to their BTS account as their password. Is there a way around this?

Thanks for this. Super helpful.

How does one get their witness key? I'm having a hard time with that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95