Is Time to Adjust Our Payout Settings to Power Up 100%?

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

ask-blackboard-356079.jpeg

This is a short post as I have not seen anything posted regarding this lately and would like to see if it can be answered. Given the recent moves in prices downward that not only have #STEEM below $1 but also SBD below as well, I am wondering if it now makes sense to set our payouts to Power Up 100%? #STEEM has also been consistent lower than SBD as well so the math behind the decision I believe is convoluted as well. In addition, given the debt ratio of SBD to STEEM outstanding, no SBD are currently being paid so it makes the decision even harder. I would like to reach out to the community whom probably know more about these calculations to see what is the best way to achieve improvements in our rewards.

Screen Shot 2018-08-14 at 7.42.00 PM.png

Given the recent changes in payouts, we are now receiving #STEEM and SP in equal amounts; replacing SBD for #STEEM. I think this has lowered our value in payouts given that the concept of the SBD was to award 50% of the rewards in a pegged amount to avoid fluctuations in the market. Thus, it was always better to get the 50% of SBD because it was worth more than the 50% of STEEM due to it being worth more than the $1 it was pegged to. However, given the recent changes it seems as though that does not hold anymore as now we will get more STEEM and SP because it is worth less than $1.

Screen Shot 2018-08-14 at 7.42.46 PM.png

Our settings page allows us to change the payout to receive it completely in Steem Power. Since the long term vision is to gain more Steem Power, I am inclined to start using this using as I rarely need STEEM or SBD (although currently not available).

Am I missing anything here? Is powering up 100% the most efficient way to increase our payout at this time? I would appreciate for your thoughts and feedback as I think it would benefit many in the community that are seeking ways to grow in the ecosystem. Let me know in the comments below!

Title Image Source: www.pexels.com

STEEM 2018-04-21 at 11.21.16 AM.png

Follow me on Twitter: @NAICrypto

Don’t forget to vote, comment, follow, resteem and browse my channel for more information!

If you are like me and interested in continued personal growth, invest in yourself and lets help each other out by leveraging the resources they provide by using my referral link:
https://www.minnowbooster.com/referral/530636

DISCLAIMER: The information discussed here is intended to enable the community to know my opinions and discuss them. It is not intended as and does not constitute investment advice or legal or tax advice or an offer to sell any asset to any person or a solicitation of any person of any offer to purchase any asset. The information here should not be construed as any endorsement, recommendation or sponsorship of any company or asset by me. There are inherent risks in relying on, using or retrieving any information found here, and I urge you to make sure you understand these risks before relying on, using or retrieving any information here. You should evaluate the information made available here, and you should seek the advice of professionals, as appropriate, to evaluate any opinion, advice, product, service or other information; I do not guarantee the suitability or potential value of any particular investment or information source. I may invest or otherwise hold an interest in these assets that may be discussed here.

Sort:  

This is great to know that the option exists but I can’t tell which is best right right now either. Hopefully, someone can clarify. Thanks!

This obvioulsy requires somebody more knowledgible than me but I can give this a try.

I thing since SBD is not being printed then its one and the same because the payouts are in Steem only and 1 Steem = 1SP.

If the the SBD were still being printed and 1 SBD< $1, then then each sbd token could have been exchanged for one dollar's worth of steem.

One way we get profited by 50/50 payout is when values of SBD is above the peg. Another way is that value of SBD is greater than Steem.

Rewards we earn are = SP + Steem + SBD.
So if we were to get a total of 100 STU then 75 STU are mine and 25 STU belong to curators. Out of this 75 STU, 37.5 are given as SP and 37.5 are given as SBD+Steem (depending on print ratio of SBD, currently zero)
Since the value of SBD is very near to steem (1SBD = 1.09 steem) the rewards shouldn't change much.

I wish I can give you an opinion on the topic, hopefully someone more knowledge has the answer.

personally I keep it 50/50, I get to use the earrings form the post last week to up my rewards on my post today, power some down and I can keep this growing and going

Going to 100% will have no effect now while SBD is not being paid.

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Outlook not so good

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63252.26
ETH 2662.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79