I Claimed my First Account after Hard Fork 20!

in #steem6 years ago

financing-business-dollar-hand.png

Source

One of the exciting features of Hard Fork 20 was the ability for accounts with sufficient Resource Credits to claim an account from the blockchain. This account could be subsequently created and used although it will not have any immediate Voting Power (Mana). However, it will have a small amount of Resource Credits available that would permit the account to engage on the platform. I think this is a great feature as it allows accounts to bring new users into the platform. I envision that communities will be built with the onboarding of these created accounts so that they can support their users through potential future Resource Credit delegation features being created. While still far from perfect, the amount of accounts being created this way has been impressive and shows its potential. It also signals further decentralization from Steemit Inc which I think is still a goal to obtain in the longer term.

First Claim Account 10-8-18.png

Screenshot taken from SteemWorld.org

Thanks to @abh12345’s post, I was able to follow the easy instructions to claim this account. At the time, an account with about 3,000 Steem Power could do this and continue to engage without much restriction. Since the Hard Fork, I had been monitoring my activity on the blockchain and the costs in Resource Credits of doing so. I never saw my amount of bandwidth go below 98% which made me comfortable claiming this account. After I did so, my Resource Credits were reduced by 66%! However, I lost no capability to engage in the ecosystem not did I get impacted by any voting restrictions include the value of my votes!

RC After Claim Account 10-8-18.png

Screenshot taken from SteemWorld.org

It took about 2-3 days for me to recover a full Resource Credit balance again but was not impacted by it in any fashion. Although I still do not know how I would use these claimed accounts nor how to access them yet, I thought it would be good to have as I could continue to onboard future users myself instead of sending them to Steemit Inc. I would, in fact, be willing to delegate people I know some Steem Power or Resource Credits to get them started. Unfortunately, by the time I was fully charged for another claim, the cost to claim an account increased my Resource Credit capacity. I think that the feature has been in high demand from the large DApp projects like @actifit and @steemmonsters that the cost has risen. However, I continue to monitor the cost in order to claims an account at each opportunity I have.

These changes to the STEEM economy make me more positive about its future as more power and flexibility is being given to the community. I truly believe in a decentralized community that can forge together and create value through its social engagement. Given how the ecosystem has expanded, the options to engage continue to evolve and attract the attention of many potential users outside the community. This is what will enable us to grow and add value for the benefit of everyone. This value is in the future but I think is not priced into the price of STEEM at the moment. For this reason, I intend to continue adding to my Steem Power however I can to leverage the capabilities of this technology.

What do you think this new feature can bring to the ecosystem? Can communities leverage their resource credits to grow and empower new users? Will this lead to the much needed retention on the platform? I look forward to your thoughts and feedback in the comments below!

STEEM 2018-04-21 at 11.21.16 AM.png

Follow me on Twitter: @NAICrypto

If you are like me and interested in continued personal growth, invest in yourself and lets help each other out by leveraging the resources they provide by using my referral link:
https://www.minnowbooster.com/referral/530636

Start your collection of Steem Monsters today at my referral link:
https://steemmonsters.com/?ref=newageinv

DISCLAIMER: The information discussed here is intended to enable the community to know my opinions and discuss them. It is not intended as and does not constitute investment advice or legal or tax advice or an offer to sell any asset to any person or a solicitation of any person of any offer to purchase any asset. The information here should not be construed as any endorsement, recommendation or sponsorship of any company or asset by me. There are inherent risks in relying on, using or retrieving any information found here, and I urge you to make sure you understand these risks before relying on, using or retrieving any information here. You should evaluate the information made available here, and you should seek the advice of professionals, as appropriate, to evaluate any opinion, advice, product, service or other information; I do not guarantee the suitability or potential value of any particular investment or information source. I may invest or otherwise hold an interest in these assets that may be discussed here.

Sort:  

Sounds like a great idea to bring more people you know into Steem with your support,

Posted using Partiko iOS

Nicely done! I think it could be worth claiming more when your RC's have recovered - nothing to lose as far as I can see.

I have been trying since I recharged but the cost has gone up by multiples:

Screen Shot 2018-10-17 at 7.35.11 PM.png

I am monitoring to see if it come down but I guess I need to get some more STEEM first!

That could be a plan!

Dammit! :D

LOL, I was just telling my daughter I was writing to you and you came up on the screen! Nice Gold Chromatic Dragon BTW!

Thanks, fat lot of use it has been so far!

I'll be back!

Thought you had me that last game last night!

I'm doing much better today! Almost at 1500 Level :D

Hi @newageinv!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.898 which ranks you at #11135 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 7 places in the last three days (old rank 11128).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 319 contributions, your post is ranked at #110.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Cool. I need to check out that post and maybe do this myself!

Hi @newageinv is it required to claim account and if do it then what's the benefit.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59893.00
ETH 2414.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43