It's rather odd......

in #steem6 years ago

......that so many witnesses and community members of influence are holloring about Steem Inc powering down 34million Steem as protection against losing it to a threatened witness led hard fork revolt.

I've read a couple of particularly nauseous pieces today where the witnesses in question were promising @ned not to try and nick his ninja mined SP, and that they knew Steem had problems but wanted us to unite to sort it out.

These were witnesses with huge stakes, who were basically just worried about their own stakes if Steem failed. I'm sure they weren't too worried about the rest of the nice community. They never seem to worry enough ahout dealing with the real issue here which for me is this;

Why do so many lovely hard working, honest and sincere members here get a pittance in rewards no matter how much, or how well they write when there are so many greedy gamers screwing hundreds of dollars a week in rewards simply cos they have enough spare cash to throw at bid bots and then compound that by doing it with multiple accounts, circle jerking to add insult to injury.

Seriously, most of the witnesses are no better. Simply here to line their own pockets and protect their own interests, hence they do sweet FA either directly or indirectly to address this issue, how easy would it be to delegate some trustable members like @steemflagrewards a million SP to wipe out every bad actor theremis in no time? But they won't...

I am not against people making money, I am not against bid bots but I am against people taking the piss and I am against irresponsible bid bot owners refusing to do anything that might effect their own profits.

I want crypto to create a fairer society, not a marxist redistrobution of wealth or any of that nonsense but if this is a decentralised form of governence then you can stick it. The longer I'm here, I become more and more convinced its just a techy form of masonary.

Individual influence should be based on what you contribute and earn from your peers, NOT what you've got and it should never be able to be bought.

I actually wish Steem inc. would sell off 34m Steem, it would bring a massive and diverse new user base as people scrambled to buy cheap Steem then join in to see what it was all about, it would be a total reset.

What I would like to see.
Universal blacklist being adopted by all promotion services plus secondary list adaptable to personal standards. How hard can that be to implement?

Witness Survey

Remember @witnesssurvey where questionaires were sent to 150 witnesses with questions chosen by the community?
I think just 6 witnesses bothered to reply. Arrogant tossers, just reinforcing my already low opinion of most of them, they don't give a damn about the community.

I have just 7 witnesses on my list, thats rather sad.

Sort:  

17 you mean?

Damn, was hoping not to fall into the arrogant tosser camp too, but i don't see @steemcommunity listed :P (We did respond to the survey)

I've read this evenings 'entertainment', and looking at the top 20, f knows what's going on.

sorry mate, I didnt know you were Steemcommunity ! I forget who the non named witnesses are and who is behind them !
Definitely 7..shortly to be 8 as I wiped out a load. I actually had you and your curation league in mind when I was thinking how to implement some sort of influence points system.
No its all bloody odd, I didnt realise ftg had shut his witness 3 weeks ago, I wonder if there is some in fighting going on we're not aware of.
Anyway, Spying on Together as our new song goes ;-)

No worries, I guess the shared account doesn't work so well for visibility :/ bummer.

My data source could be a few hours out, fair play for giving the axe a swing.

Personally, I don't know what to believe right now, and yeah I think I'm going to power-down a weeks worth :(

I went to make some bread pudding and I come back to this:

I didn’t know only a handful of witnesses responded to that. Lol

If it’s blasting away accounts, that would be @flagawhale. We could have millions of SP on @steemflagrewards, but not having the amount of stakeholders to match and flag would make things awkward.

Steemit and STEEM are not meritocratic systems.

You either have much and get much, or you have nothing and get nothing. You could work your way up, but until then you will never be able to get as much in article and comment rewards as the top-level-whales here get in interest rate on their already existing SP.

Just sayin'.

Dang, Man... Liking you more and more LOL!!!

I want crypto to create a fairer society, not a Marxist Redistribution of wealth or any of that nonsense...


Same Here 😎

Steem isn't proof-of-brain. It is proof-of-stake. If you want more coins, buy more coins. $100 is like 300 coins right now. Steem is already a steal deal.

Bid bots are not a problem. The way we've chosen to organize and display information on the blockchain is the problem. Bid-bots tap in to that problem and exploit it. They are actually showing us where the problem is so we can plug it.

it would bring a massive and diverse new user base as people scrambled to buy cheap Steem then join in to see what it was all about, it would be a total reset.

I'm not sure why you think cheap Steem would be bought up by thousands of trustworthy individuals instead of a single rich person. Entitled people who think their writing deserves rewards seem to be the last ones buying Steem no matter how low the value goes.

Universal blacklist being adopted by all promotion services plus secondary list adaptable to personal standards. How hard can that be to implement?

How hard can it be to come to consensus? Pretty hard. That is the foundational problem of every blockchain.

I value your opinion, as it is the opinion of many on here. I want POB to be a thing, it just isn't yet. However, I think you should recognize that identifying the problems is much much easier than coming up with solution. "Solutions" have many unintended consequences.

Thanks for that :-) I will think about it and your own post I've just read and reply tomorrow if thats Ok. Its 2am here ! Thanks again .

@edicted that's a great response to this post which definitely does strike a chord with the small accounts that attempt to be engaging and informed.

I definitely consider myself to be in this category and while at times Im frustrated and full of piss and vinegar I do not fail to realise that there are influential accounts and witnesses that are not arrogant tossers. Seeing replies like yours and @steemitcommunity are reassuring and greatly appreciated.

That being said it is kind of lame seeing the bandwagon of I promise not to posts, as there is nothing binding about that so it's frankly just absurd. I know I'd never risk my investment because of a, trending pact on the blockchain. And yes, I get that everyone with any brain realises that this scenario would never play out as it would clearly destroy the blockchain if disagreeing was grounds for forking people over. What's remarkable is the lack of faith in the consensus of what the core principles of blockchain are that has been exposed by this drama.

Thx for expressing the views of the little ones @nathen007 and I think we can all agree the growing pains are here to stay...

Posted using Partiko Android

To sum it up, steem is just like our society, where rich people make the rules and the gouvernement does anything to please them:)
Our swamp is the T20 :))

Speech of the poor "have-nots"!! A shit account with barely any shit in balance!

Not sure I understand the point of your comment and its relevance
Care to explain please

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @nathen007! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 3250 replies. Your next target is to reach 3500 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63342.09
ETH 2658.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81