You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem as a Digital Currency

in #steem7 years ago

Good post! Steemit is very blog/ social media focused. I think it would be good to have an app that is payment focused. A pure online wallet. With address book feature etc. Stripped on social media/ blogging features.

With the option to lock up STEEM in SP being seen as a saving vehicle. And locking up SP into "Curation Fund(s)" seen as an investment option that pays dividends.

I'm sure there are some users would love STEEMs payment opinions (alongside dividends paid from SP/ Curation), whilst keeping arms length from the nitty gritty of reading blogs and social media.

As more apps are built on the STEEM blockchain, users can decide how best to allocate their SP (via Proxies) in order to maximise returns.

Another factor which has made Monero and Dash successful is the anonymity. If there was a way to make transactions from a STEEM wallet app even pseudo-anonymous, that would again give wider appeal.

Sort:  

You mean something like SteemBux?
https://steemit.com/steemit/@williambanks/steembux-is-now-officially-open-source

Which reminds me, I need to get that into the app store when I get a chance to catch my breath.

That is a great idea about an app that is payment focused. That seems like the next logical step! Steem certainly does have several distinct advantages over some other cryptocurrencies, most of which are mentioned here. If we could just figure out how to stabilize the price I would think there would be a lot of demand for other use cases...

I agree. Anonymity is crucial. Another reason DASH has been successful is how heavily marketed it is. DASH is marketed in a very inorganic way, where there central team promotes the currency through posts and videos in a way other cryptos have not. In the short term this method seems to be very effective, over the long term I am not so sure. My point is Steemit & STEEM could possibly benefit from a more organized marketing campaign. I am considering doing a post about that when I get the time.

I'm not sure how crucial anonimity is in a world where *99% of digital money transactions (by numbers, not volume) are not anonymous.

I do agree however that marketing is key here.

*I made that number up.

Digital money transactions have not been anonymous because the average person hasn't had the ability to transact anonymously. Crypto currency changes that. There is now a new benchmark that has been set, now that other cryptos offer the function of anonymity, why would you choose something that doesn't give you that ability. That is just my opinion, I am not sure if people who know less about crypto would even care, but within the community it seems to be very important.

Agreed on all points. Anonymity is key.

Yeah, anonymity is very much needed. Not everybody is willing to show to the whole world what they are buying and selling.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57320.16
ETH 2472.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31