The Cracks In Steem Paradise: Let's Fix These Or Face Imminent Steempocalypse!

in #steem6 years ago

Hello Steemians,

I'm sad! Listen its unusual for me to say that I'm sad so when I actually say that then it must be serious right? Yeah it is very serious. Infact, I know for sure that I'm not the only sad one here. Many minnows and newbies are sad as well. Many quality content creators are unhappy. Many would-be-writers who thought that steemit would be their saviour are getting disappointed on a daily basis. Should we all keep a smiling face and act as if everything is alright? Nope!

cracks_in_steem_paradise.jpg


Will I be stoned like Steven when I say the truth? Will I be matryed on the alter of alturism? I dunno. Infact, I dun care anymore. He who is without sin should cast the first downvote.

As I'm typing this right now, some whales somewhere have delegated all their SP to voting bots which continues degrading this system that we all want to believe in. Many people are labouring in vain for this platform, spreading the "hopes" of a better internet of tomorrow hinged entirely on the shoulders of this platform. But who gets the returns? Vote bots?

Seriously. Its no longer a joke. You may feel satisfied that you are earning what $100 per post you make but that's just a mirage. If you don't speak out in the face of injustices, your crypto-investments will dissolve faster than salt in water.

Do you know the number of minnows that silently stop steeming just because of all these? First it begins with a false promise by the referrer to the steem blockchain. "You will make millions of dollars as a writer", they said. And we all believed them. Well if we didn't believe we wouldn't be here except for some of us that actually found this place on our own.

You make an intro-post, to get welcomed by the community. AT least that was what it was when I joined. Now, minnows barely get welcome mostly by bots. Despite all these, you still hold on to the promises or prophesies that you will make it from here. Then you start pouring out your heart and leaving traces of your personal history all over the blockchain.

The one question on your lips after every of these attempts at making it is, "where is my money?". "Hey don't forget you have no claim to any money because you haven't put in any money", they quickly tell you. Damn! I may have even been among the they at some point.

We all made other investments in this- Time! Sweat!! Eforts!!! and most importantly BRAIN POWER!!!!. They said that this place was for proof of brain right? So why can't you get curated even though that you have proven over and over that you actually have some grey matter in your cortex. Hey don't get confused, that whole medical jargon just means brain.

Yeah you do have a brain (or half a brain) whichever rolls faster on your tongue. Afterall we are said to use only about 10% of our brain capacity. Thats a story for another day. So as I was saying, what then is the frigging problem? Why can't these whales frigging notice you?

One word.

STEEMIT IS GETTING FUCKED BY BOTS!

Oh thats 6 words right? Well, the drought of upvotes may actually be affecting my mathematical talents. Forgive me. Upvote me and I upvote you. Follow for follow. Lolx. Now I'm sounding like one of those bots I'm yapping about. The most important word there is Bots.

The word "yapping" reminds me of a certain witness who is making an entire steem career off of bots. He created post-promoter and a commonly used site by butt-enthusiasts (bottracker). His gain has become our loss in this progressively depressing cryptiverse.

When you use bots you lose, the only person that gains is the bot owners. Its not even as if they will give you maximum votes that will guarantee good returns. Nope! They want to maximize all profits. How do you have the heart to make people pay you for something the rest of us give out for free?

This wasn't the system we all signed up for. We signed up for a universe where proof of brain is the major algorithm for trending not based on who you know or how much you have. A situation where a newbie that's just coming in gets higher rep and makes more money within 3 days of joining than 1000 minnows who have been here for over 3 months is appaling.

Who cares whether you previously owned a TV site or that you were the highest subbed in Youtube. Damn you! This platform is supposed to be about freedom from all of that. I'm I right or right? Does it now mean that tomorrow (if) steemit gets very big that we would then be competing Coca-cola and the likes when they all come in and frigging circle-jerk themselves to the tops of all trending pages?

I believe that positive criticism is necessary for a longlasting growth. No more kissing asses and inhaling farts all in the name of getting an upvote. When I notice anyone doing something wrong, I will call you out in public NO MATTER WHO YOU ARE. I no longer care about the SP in your wallet afterall, I never got an upvote from you so why shouldn't I frigging say my mind in a supposedly decretralized censorship-free platform.

Enough of being nice to assholes. An asshole who doesn't care about others similarly deserve not to be cared about. I understand that the economic situation most times make people to bend unnecesarily to people who on a normal day doesn't even deserve a mention. Like seriously, what have you done to help others other than piggy-backing off of them and scooping their rewards for yourself- You selfishly arrogant bastard!

I think the love node is progressively being depleted by toxic abuse of power. Perhaps the love node was a love note afterall. As long as the currency notes prevail, the wrong people get their way around here while the original content creators are left to burn in a mess of their own ashes.

No curators = No steem blockchain (My thoughts on fixing our paradise).

If all the curation we can ever get is from upvote bots and buying votes then wherein lies our proof of brain algo? Perhaps its lying in state in the graveyard surrounded by thorns and dying roses. You actually need people to fucking tell you that your works are cool by giving it a like/upvote. When a majority give you a like, you get to trending.

I'm just beginning to think that investors and SP holders can actually have other benefits apart from minting steem. I think all user votes should have an equal vote weight based on the reward-pool versus the value of steem at a particular time.

Everyone is frigging important for the growth of this platform. No one! I repeat, No one should be relegated to the sidelines here. A simple change in algo where all votes carry equal weights will make people more accountable to their actions. Thats when you will see a whale treating a newbie like an egg because he/she knows that their votes count.

Everything on this platform shouldn't frigging be tied to the monetary value. I shouldn't get $1000 before I can trend. I should rather trend because alot of persons actually love my work/writeup so much.

"What Of Spam" You Ask?

A simple solution to solving spam is an identity verification. Damn! In the cryptospace, there's something called KYC. We should download those regulations on this platform. Nobody will want a bad reputation in real-life.

Oh! Are we going to blow your cover? I know you are a fat cat hiding behind the monitor and doing havoc on us all. I hate to tell yah, "you suck!". Identity verification could be made public or private though. Private gets you a credibility from Steemit Inc while the public verification gives you a credibility from the steemians.

Kill the bots!

The simple way is to identify those posts upvoted with bots and move them to another page of their. Let them fight each other and kill off themselves. Seriously!

Like instead of a $500 post gotten from bots to be on the general trending page, it should be on its own Promoted tab. That way, original quality content not upboted will still get the chance to shine. Its getting darker and gloomy as the days roll by.


Seriously! This is a no-brainer. I wonder why no one has come up with this since. Or maybe someone has said it but has been ignored by you all. Anyway, if you read thus far, congratulations! Our wishes may just be horses...(complete the rest).

A post like this should be on that frigging trending page. If not for any other thing but for the fact that it proffers a solution to steempocalypse. Dammit! I'm actually saving the world here guys. Show me some frigging love. Oh! I kinda prefer you show me the love note instead (or not). Whatever!

I just had to say my mind. Now I feel like someone who just purged out a massive diarrhoea. Maybe I will feel better afterwards or maybe I need to replace the water and electrolytes I have lost in this debacle.

Everyone here should better start taking a responsibility for their actions. We all deserve better. We all desire equity. Justice. Fairness. Well-distributed wealth. Thats the steem dream we are all hoping on.

Don't allow this platform die like Myspace to a Facebook. @Dan is already talking about a Steemit 2.0. What does that even mean? I guess he planning on dropping a platform that can beat steem with a better algorithm. What will happen if he achieves that?

Pls everyone needs to sit up and fix this shit. I'm tired of percieving the crap. The first to start running a race is not always the first to finish. We need solutions because we love this platform so dearly. Are we here to crash and burn steem or are we here for the long haul?

Damn sure you already know my choice. I have been at the forefront of many viable projects on this blockchain. @Air-Clinic being one of them. I have given more free health talks than I dunno Google? You may or may not support what we do for the growth of this platform but at least do the right thing.

I don't like complaining. If for anything, I don't like to give people the chance to say that I said that they said that you said. Fuckit! I said it! Anyway, this is a sad Nairadaddy just baring his mind. Enough of the niceness to assholes and jerks.

I deserve better. You deserve better. We deserve better!

Fix this shit please!


P.S: This letter is to whom it may concern. Perhaps, its for @Ned or whomever.

DQmaRUcmp6BpTuto7F4AeBk6oXvaHQQkWJKfSnvvsLcuhAE.jpeg
This is what I wanna see. A flawless steem ecosystem. Given that this is a Beta platform. Pls fix this!

Sort:  

Hmmmm you just said it all. Shitty post on Steemit poet gets the highest rewards. A newbie was recently complaining that he spent 6 hours making a post and it was $0.00 for 3 whole days until I upvoted it.

We that get good upvotes are looking for extra ways to get extra money,including selling sp etc.

Summary : bots will kill sp, the sooner this is fixed, the better. If its not fixed, a better version will come. People are not sleeping, we are in a competitive world.

Seriously @Samstickkz. Its not funny at all sometimes when you see a newbie's post you feel like crying. Even we that have been here a while, its not easy at all.

Steemit should/could be made easier. Like you rightly pointed out, life is a competition and men aren't sleeping.

Let's not get too comfortable and lose our decades of work to sharks around. I just hope Steem upgrades before EOS. This is a real competition now.

Cheers!

I am only a little Dolphin but you have my total agreement and full support on what you have said here @nairadaddy.

I would be interested to talk more with you on direct message about these issues if you have time.

Hey @pennsif,
I will message you. It seems we have alot in common.
Cheers!

@pennsif we have the time. This was the same thing were talking about recently. I want to join the discussion please

dont get this. upvoting liked blogs, curating, frequent bloggers get some pocket money from daily upvotes, one gets some pocket money from daily curating. no problem. of course no one must expect to earn millions with blogging - not even on steemit. one can earn some rewards with blogging and curating brilliant! maybe stop complaining? #joinsteemit

I am glad this is coming from you and it can't be qualified as a 'minnow' rant. The plain truth is to make it on Steemit regardless of the brain you are coming with, you have to know a couple of dolphins or whales that will keep supporting you or you will come in with big investment to buy big steem power and votes.

I love steemit but I don't think this problem is going away. Steem is definitely not number one on @ned's mind and the witnesses and their supporters are the owners of the voting bots. Like you said we can't have a solution until the minnows vote start to matter and our trending page is not populated by bots d post. I always wonder why trending as to do the amount and not the number of people upvoting the post.

I wish Steemit should be saved as soon as possible as a lot are leaving and and some are discouraged to the point of not been able to come up with a good post or settle for posting shitty post instead because it doesn't seems to matter much any more.

Hey @golddeejay.

Steemit is definitely not number one on @ned's mind.

I think you are right. Perhaps he's been overcome by the SMTs "big" idea. But lets not forget that this is the origin. This has to be fixed too or the SMTs tokens will still face similar challenges in the nearest future.

I love this platform and I wanna see it work.

You made a lot of sense here boss. It is really discouraging that a lot of people who are soiling their hands day and night in marketing steemit hardly get requisite rewards. And some people, mostly the first generation Steemians, lockup huge SP somewhere lying in wait wait for possible price spike. And I wonder how such thing will happen when marketers and lots of good writers are not being rewarded.

Steemit Inc must have to find a solution to this, otherwise in the next few months, there may be possible mass exudes (God forbid though)

Such a nice observation

@eurogee of @euronation community

Yeah. You raised an important issue. Seriously, much worse than vote bots is the fact that some people have SP locked up in their accounts which they never put to use. Its as if they have entirely abandoned the SP.
Delegate it to someone to use na; no they won't. I don't even understand that ideology at all.

Hopefully, our #promo-steem guild can help fix alot of things for we steem-ambassadors.

Keep steeming bro!

That will depend on them getting delegation.

Wow! You have said it all. You nailed it. Bots are killing, and depriving people with quality content from being noticed. I don't know if having the same voting strength due to the current price of Steem, would be a welcome idea, as people have been conditioned to "rank", just for their ego, but i would absolutely love it, if it is so. It would really show that "Everyone really matters" and "Everyone has something to offer", like @surpassinggoogle would say. It doesn't have to be this hard, they found a way round the system and made it hard; typical of the world we live in. I love your rants...i hope it turns into ants and creep its way into their pants.

I agree with @Surpassinggoogle, Everyone has something to offer. The entire steem ecosystem should really be about that.

Our talents and dreams and visions should come to pass here.

Moving forward, lets not keep waiting for them to make it easy. We have to find a way to make it easy ourselves.

Keep steeming!

You nailed it! We owe it to ourselves. Thank you sir. I'm pumped up.

Some people are even using their value steem power to downvote some people who are still making a lot on their post even with the downvotes instead of supporting the community with it.

The system seems broken.

I hope you know the rewards are not unlimited. Those guys are doing a service to steem. Thank you.

Well that strategy is not working because those they are downvoting are still cutting away with a lot.

They should change strategy, like for example spread their steem power to the whole community through upvote, so that the whole community can join in the fight.

Beside I have my reservations about that flagging war thing going on.

They have good intentions, maybe a rethink of strategy may make matters better. Thanks a lot.

Well. All what I can say is that I think we are all playing a role here.
Those who flag the rewardpoolrapers are also guilty in this bot issue one way or another.
The algo is the main issue. Once its corrected, everyone sits up.

Exactly. The hypocrisy with the flagging war going on, is my issues with it.

I love this. It can be really disheartening boss. I made a post showcasing my investments on Steemit in a form of banners, posters and even stickers I made with my hardearned money ( kudi, ego, owo, benjamin, SBD, call it whatever) for Steemit orientation and recruiting of people some days ago and all I got was whooping 0.67cents, 25% of the post payout went to drain pipe in form of royalty paid to someone who knew nothing about the energy and resources put in place to produce such things. That drain pipe is @dtube.

@samstickkz made a similar post like yours some days ago expressing his concerns. The thing is getting out of hands.

We may sit back and enjoy the rollercoaster drive Steemit to its natural death.

The encouragements we usually get is keep steeming, your post will earn something big someday. Yes, the someday better be TODAY OR NO DAY.

I WISH THERE IS A STEEMIT WITNESS THAT CAN DO SOMETHING ABOUT THESE CONCERNS, although my inner self tells me the So called Steemit Witnesses are a CABAL.

LET THE STEEMIT WITNESSES PROVE US WRONG. @ned should shove Steem 2.0 or whatever he calls it if such will only replicate the ABNORMALITIES PREVALENT HERE.

OUR VOICES NEEDS TO BE HEARD, EVERY STEEMIAN IS AN AMBASSADOR OF THE PLATFORM, HENCE, EQUITY SHOULD PREVAIL.

BTW, I like the idea of having the sharks, whales or whatever they like to address themselves as move their crappy posts to promoted page and leave us alone with the Trending page filled with 90% garbage and 10% sausage.

Sorry about the promotion you did that refused to yield much. You are not alone. Sometimes we go for these meetups and promote steem. When we make a post about it, we don't even recover our transport fare let alone making profits.

Its gonna be okay my friend. Thats what everyone says. Perhaps if we say it long enough, we believe it and maybe the miracle of belief will make it come to pass.

Keep steeming!

I agree, at the very least bot promoted content should be put in the promoted tab. Bots are killing original content

Exactly. Thanks for contributing!

Good afternoon @nairadaddy.

This is just the pure truth, the Steem-osphere is breaking down faster than it is being built. The system is on a downward spiral if nothing is done to salvage the situation, and I think a change in paradigm is what is needed.

I'll just have to take out time and relearn the community to see if anything can be done. I believe the platform can and will get better.

These are the sort of posts that should be trending, but come on. Well looking towards the better future of the Steem-osphere.

I'll just have to take out time and relearn the community to see if anything can be done. I believe the platform can and will get better.

I guess we all need to take a step back and think forward at the same time.

Keep steeming!

Gud day @nairadaddy
I totally agree with you on this because i discovered the enthusiasm i had when i first join with all the promises, i don't see them. Someone is brain-drained trying to put a post for hours, and at the end of it all you hardly see upvotes. We need a clean steemit ecosystem. Thanks for this movement sir.

Don't work based on those false promises. Just work with your passion. DO steemit because you love writing about your passion.

We all need a clean steemit. But while we wait for that, never ever give up!

Keep steeming!

thanks for these encouraging words coming from you @nairadaddy. Am encouraged to keep on keeping on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17