STEEM UPDATE - # Tags limited to 5 and a Tag drop down added to check for Tag abuse!

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

Nice little update from the Steem devs today. Posts are now limited to having only 5 different tags. This will help with tag spam and overall content on Steem. On top of that, there is now a tag drop down list to see what tags were used. In the past, you could only see the primary tag and had to look at meta data to see the rest. Now you can easily check if improper tags were used.

As many users know, tag spam has been an issue since it places articles into categories where there is no relation.

It also was bad for new users to come and see a #travel post tagged into the #news category or a #fitness post tagged in the #steemit category.

Trust me. I'm not innocent. Up and til now, you had every incentive to tag the most viewed tags to get the most visibilty for your post. But now that's not possible. 

You only get 5 tags so choose wisely.

Sort:  

Its a start but steemers should really be able to curate authors tags and add their own.

Not following? How would this work?

Hello! I am @upvotes and I am here to help you get upvotes!

Just upvote this comment and your post automatically becomes an @upvotes candidate for: @people, @places, and @headlines
Several times a day the most upvoted candidates become the Best of Category post

Hi OP! I am @jeeves, a public service robot (PSR). I want to thank you for this wonderful post. I'm here to deliver my sincere upvote. For readers: if you liked this blog, you might also be interested in these other posts tagged "steem".

Here are the top 3 most popular posts tagged "steem":

  1. SA's City of Durban to be engulfed by STEEM! The world to follow! ($17936.82)
  2. [STEEMSHARE.COM] - The Dedicated STEEM Post List Organizer and Discovery Platform ($5845.6)
  3. Response to Coindesk Article "Steem Provokes Doubt of Market Observers" ($3297.8)

welcome to my blog @alex2016

I usually only use 1 tag, so this will actually help people like me too, because all those people putting random tags pushes our posts down in the categories.

Yes, should help consolidate into proper categories.

Finally! This was one of my first issues with the beta. Now for more original content. :)

heard that!

I'm not gonna lie I tag spammed on my first few posts but after that I cleaned my act up and I am no longer a dirty tag spamming fuck face.

I'm guilty as well. There was no point not to tho.

Now it's time to let us manually select the topic of our post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66979.07
ETH 3513.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.21