Do you believe in destiny?

in #steem5 years ago

Hooray Readers! This is not the usual travel post, nor it has pretty pictures; it doesn't mean it's not important.


Life has been a hella busy in London and I find myself posting less and less about the past trips, current events and future plans. The vLogs are also somehow forgotten and I've been struggling to bring new material - I don't have my cameras with me at the moment.

Anyway, it doesn't mean that the days have been boring and that I've stopped having crazy ideas for future trips and contents to create. In fact, this fast typed, freely written and careless text is one of the thoughts I have an urge to share. It starts with a question:

Do you believe in destiny?

fortunetelling1989579_1920.jpg

Image by Tumisu on Pixabay


I'm not a philosopher of any sort and I'm not into philosophy either. I don't try to uderstand all the nuances of life, the meaning for things. I'm not an avid reader and I hate to express myself. Instead, I just keep on going and discovering and experiencing as events happen around; sometimes they are challenges to solve in the middle of the Alps, sometimes they are a bit more complex.

However, as I advance in life I start to realise that maybe some events, be it bad or good, occur for a reason, as if they were meant to be. If you stop and analise some things in life you'll be able to see that for each one of these events a consequence followed, and that perhaps it wouldm't be like that if the previous sequence hadn't been the way it was. Don't worry, I'll explain what happened and get to a conclusion, hopefully.

Was it destiny?

As you may know I'm based in London to gather resouces and continue my bicycle trip around the world. My main task here is to deliver food by bicycle, from the restaurant to the client; it's quick, simple and for the most part there's no interaction with the customers... until I got an special deliver.

That day I was far from the customer, meaning that I'd possibly reject that order and move on to something closer to avoid spending time. But I decided to take it and go anyway, it was early evening and peak time was just around the corner demanding a lot from the courriers. Following the routine, I picked the meal and headed to the customer's flat. On the phone app a note: "Please be patient, I'm disabled".

Since I'm always courteous with the customers, regardless of their conditions, I got there quickly, locked the bicycle and went upstairs. Upon knocking on the door it automatically oppened and a woman shouted from the inside.

- Come in! You have to bring it here, I can't move - She said.

I moved in and handed the meal in her hands. From that moment on I don't know how to describe what happened, but the result was that I made a friend. To cut story short, I spent more than one hour talking to her.

- So you are working here while you travel, that's briliant! I love travelling. What do you do in Brazil? - She said.

- Well, I have a degree in mechanical engineering, but I've teached english for 2 years before start travelling. - I said.

- What? No way! You know, I've been waiting for years for an engineer to design a custom made wheel chair so I can move again - She said in shock.

- Ãhn? that can't be! I'm a mechanical engineer! - I said.

The next conversations were us pondering and having ideas on how we could find a solution for her conditions.We also talked about travels, dogs, country life. All in a span of 1 hour and something.

Looking further back..

Later I realised that it could not be just coincidence, and that's why I'm sharing this thoughts.

  • What are the chances that, from all the courriers working that day, exactly one that is an engineer answeard that order?
  • If hadn't my bicycle been stolen, would have I worked as courier? Would I have ended in her flat?

In the end I start to see my bicycle theft as the beginning of a series of events that were meant to be. It serves to show that we shouldn't bother with isolated bad events, because maybe good things may arise from that.

Now I'm in contact with my new friend on a weekly basis, I just go there to chat and have a cup of tea and update her on the progress of my researches to find a solution to her problem. It won't be easy to get to a solution, but I garantee I'll give my best.

If you've read this far, thank you! The conclusion of this text is that I'll release some texts explaining the situation more in depth, to see if I manage the contacts to join me on the project to make her dreams come true.

And if you don't believe in destiny, make sure to stop and analise some of the events and consequences of your life, you'll be surprise how they are all related.


Would you be interested to joing forces to help her? If yes, leave a msg down below.

If you liked this post, please, consider leaving your upvote for a hot coffee.

~Love ya all,


Disclaimer:  The author of this post is a convict broke backpacker, who has travelled more than 10.000 km hitchhiking. Following him may cause severe problems of wanderlust and inquietud. You've been warned.


I'm Arthur. I blog about Adventure Stories, Brazil, Travel, Camping & Life Experiences.

Follow me to stay tuned for more craziness and tips.

You may also want to read:

[vlog #35] Bike Vlog Ljubljana | Slovenia | First Steps In a New City

[vlog #35] Cycling on the Alps | Slovenia | Logaska Dolina

[vlog #33] Bike Vlog on the Road | Slovenia | Maribor to Dravograd

[Blog #53] Where the hell am I going? | Slovenia | Photography

[vlog #32] Bike Vlogging in Maribor | Trail | Exploring

[vlog #35] Bike Vlog Ljubljana | Slovenia | First Steps In a New City

CO-FOUNDER AND CURATOR ON:



A PROUD MEMBER OF:



Sort:  

I don’t believe in destiny but I do believe that sometimes fortunate events occur that appear as if they were destined to be.

For example; I can trace everything that has happened in the past 15 years back to the outcome of a single conversation that I had with a person who I barely knew. If I hadn’t made a decision following that conversation then my life right now would be drastically different from what it is today.

That’s not destiny though. It’s the butterfly effect.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Exactly, just like you said, the simple act of speaking to someone may open so many doors.

I could've delivered the meal and carry on with my tasks (it was a busy day), but instead I took some time to stay there and chat.

In fact the coincidences didn't stop, there were more, but I didn't add or else the text would be way to big.

Oh man that is a sweet story. And you are right - nothing of all this would have happened if there had not been for that damn bike theft. It looks it was really meant to happen! Take care in London buddy, I am looking forward to meeting up with you again!

You see, in the end it wasn't all that bad! When are you coming back? The months are passing by incredibly fast.

I don´t know exactly yet, probably in summer or early fall? :)

Hi @mrprofessor!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.236 which ranks you at #2881 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 218 contributions, your post is ranked at #107.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You have summed up like a beautiful puzzle! Have you reached to that charity I have mentioned to you?

Riiiiiiimicane, not yet really. I talked to her and she said she had tried before without much success. I'm trying to contact a company in my city that works with custom made equipment for disabled people.

I don't think it would be a difficult project, but I lack the tools in London to do it.

Nice writeup! I’m a beliver in coincidence and human tendency to match patterns and that people being very good at lying to themselves or softer... adjusting their perception. Leaving out things that do not fit in our tuned perceptions may be a great gift though that makes life possibly more enjoyable. What others believe doesn’t really matter. What you choose to believe while you are creating your reality counts.

Posted using Partiko iOS

From longman dictionary:
Destiny: the things that will happen to someone in the future, especially those that "cannot be changed or controlled"

Somehow i do believe in destiny, but i have problem with that "cannot be changed or controlled" part. I don't believe that our will power can change anything, but i believe it can change something, so the balance here is important.

But i completely understand what you said and I had the same feeling many times. But i don't know what that really means. Be it destiny, luck, coincident, then what? It's like i have lost that common sense in living.

Aaaahhhhhh So many paradoxes in my mind... better to stop writing right now.

I love this story, just feel your heart and intuition accepting it for the truth that it is, and there will be no denying fate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62108.38
ETH 2582.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57