You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem statistics for 6 years

in #steem3 days ago (edited)

Thank you for the presentation.

While reading, it came to my mind that the comments per day would be interesting to see how the relationship between the number of posts and the number of comments developed.
Maybe we can do that...

Data origin (info for the reader):

The data were extracted by me from my Hivemind test node, which receives all updates, i.e. contains all (relevant) data of the chain.

To the results:
  • I had expected a more significant “ shift” at the time of the fork (March 2020). You can see that the number of authors and commenters has dropped, but not as much as I would have thought.
  • The peak in new accounts in May 2020 is remarkable. Is this coincidentally at the time of HF 0.23?
  • I can't explain what the increase in posts in September and October 2020 could be due to.
  • Between March 2021 and May 2022, activity was consistently higher than later (for authors, posts, and commenters). At that time, the Steem price was already slightly higher than afterwards. I would cautiously see an influence after all. As far as I could determine from @remlaps-lite's statistics posts, printing of the SBD was stopped in May 2022. Indirectly, the reduction in activity is therefore related to the Steem price.
  • Since June 2022, activity has been constant, albeit at a lower level compared to previous years.
Sort:  

Between March 2021 and May 2022, activity was consistently higher than later (for authors, posts, and commenters). At that time, the Steem price was already slightly higher than afterwards. I would cautiously see an influence after all. As far as I could determine from @remlaps-lite's statistics posts, printing of the SBD was stopped in May 2022. Indirectly, the reduction in activity is therefore related to the Steem price.

Unfortunately, that data came from steemdb, so it's long gone now unless someone wants to scan the blockchain or hivemind for author reward transactions. But I think it looks like SBDs stopped briefly in May, then started again and stopped again in June (or the very end of May). I'm pretty sure that the print threshold was around $0.252 back then, so based on the price history, I guess they stopped printing in early-mid June.

Past research also found a link between posting activity and the price of STEEM. In particular, they said that posting activity lagged price by about 2 weeks and voting lagged by 90 days (I'll bet that changed to 30 days when the power-down rules changed).

The peak in new accounts in May 2020 is remarkable. Is this coincidentally at the time of HF 0.23?

I had skimmed over that earlier, but it is fascinating. There was a lot of antisocial and other atypical behavior going on between March and May that year. I'd suspect malfeasance - my guess would be that it was someone trying to strain steemit's resources or setting up a bot farm.

Update: And this had slipped my mind, but I found it again when I was looking for the article above. Maybe useful for some historical data:

We collect over 38 million blocks generated in Steemit during a 45 month time period from 2016/03 to 2019/11 and extract ten key types of operations performed by the users. The results generate SteemOps, a new dataset that organizes over 900 million operations from Steemit into three sub-datasets:

There was a lot of antisocial and other atypical behavior going on between March and May that year.

Yes, that's exactly why I expected more influence on the activities at this time. The fact that a few more accounts were created there is the lesser evil.

unless someone wants to scan the blockchain or hivemind for author reward transactions.

I also used your burned token posts for the estimation. :-)
Too bad that we didn't have the data saved somewhere. But it's not worth running the chain because of that.
I have discovered an alternative (paid rewards). I looked at an account that posts daily (nodex).
With this query and the appropriate times, we can determine the reward shares (and thus also the print rate): https://sds0.steemworld.org/rewards_api/getRewards/author_reward/upvu.proxy/1598918400-1656633600

grafik.png

I couldn't find a better graphic in a hurry. :-)

As you can see, there were fluctuations in the print rate at the end of 2020, but after that it was fairly stable until May 2022.

SteemOps

Have you downloaded the data? I'm a little hesitant because I don't know how large the amount of data is.

Have you downloaded the data? I'm a little hesitant because I don't know how large the amount of data is.

No, I haven't downloaded it. I also don't know how big it is, but I was assuming that I don't have enough storage available to do anything useful with it.

I can't explain what the increase in posts in September and October 2020 could be due to.

I believe the current steemit team took charge at that time. Initiatives like The Diary Game were also introduced in that timeline as per my knowledge. The platform was coming back to life.

Yes, 100 Days of Steem started in about April 2020, and then came the Diary Game which generated significant new activity.

I don't think I had seen the initiative live yet. Only when browsing through old posts. :-)

But as with so many activities, it's a challenge to get users to stay on the platform. It's not easy.
Only a few have the stamina to organize events over a longer period of time so that users are motivated to participate on a permanent basis. Users should also be bound to the Steem. A quick profit is of little help to the platform.

Speaking of developing the platform: I would like to develop some minor changes in Hivemind over the next few weeks that could change the view of the platform a little. So that users are not falsely incentivized by investor posts.
I know it's an incentive for new users when they see the amounts under some posts. But this is not the “normal life” on Steem. These posts should therefore not end up so high up in the Trendings. If this is also in the interest of the Steemit team, please give permission for the code changes later.

Yes and I think st this moment we really need more initiatives that can improve the engagement rate in this platform.

I've added an update at the end of the post where, based on your data, I've tried to show the relationship between the number of comments and active authors, and the number of comments and the number of posts.

It seems that the price of STEEM affects the activity of authors, but it is not the only factor. At least now I don't see as direct a dependency as I thought at first. Perhaps a more in-depth analysis is needed, indicating when SBDs were printed, when they were not, and when SBDs were printed simultaneously with STEEM.

What surprised me the most is that Steemit has about the same number of active authors as Hive. Hive knows how to promote itself better and it seemed to me that there is more activity there. The only difference is the geography of the authors.

Thank you for the update. My diagrams really don't look like much :-)

Hive knows how to promote itself better and it seemed to me that there is more activity there.

Yes, Hive can also present more development activities. The hard forks alone that have taken place so far. It doesn't all have to be good, but it gives them attention.
I think it's good that more proposals are being approved. But it seems to me that the supposed centralization at Steem is now taking place at Hive. Even if this is not openly stated there, and probably denied.

The only difference is the geography of the authors.

Where is the comparison from? Is there a source for this?

printing of the SBD was stopped in May 2022. Indirectly, the reduction in activity is therefore related to the Steem price.

I'm not sure how hard it would be to generate, but it might be nice to have a data series on the value of author rewards that takes into account SBD price and percentage of reward paid out in SBDs vs Steem. (Also maybe things that affect the author/curator split).

Yes, indeed. Some historical data would be very interesting.
Unfortunately, we don't have the data, and it can't be obtained overnight. The steemSQL database mentioned by @remlaps is unfortunately no longer available.
I have looked at the rewards payouts as a workaround. See here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58224.09
ETH 2508.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34