You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem: Where DOES the money come from?

in #steem7 years ago

Thanks @steemrollin ! Brilliant and simple way to explain what is Steem starting from the very roots of the digital value.

I still wonder though: each time I upvote a post, where the money comes from? Who finances the upvote as it does not come out from my own wallet apparently?

Is it Steemit, backing the value on Steem and Steem Power?

Could you bring some light on this matter? Or anybody else maybe =)

Greetz

Sort:  

Have you found an answer already, as I am wondering about the same.
In addition, where the money will come from in the future?

Hi @Alczak, unfortunately nope...

The financing comes from the reward pool. Each day a certain number of new tokens (Steem) are mined and distributed to creators and curators of quality content. The creators and curators receive this in return for contributing to the blockchain. The tokens have a monetary value because they are a commodity people are willing to exchange fiat currency for. That’s my understanding anyway, I’m fairly new to Steem so I could be wrong.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87