The Great Steem Experiment!

in #steem6 years ago

We are used to websites which provide a service. We use them because we enjoy that service. Different ones compete for our custom and the ones which offer what we personally want usually win out. If they change and we're no longer happy with them, then we stop using them.

Steem is a slightly different approach. The blockchain was created as a base for others to add on their own sites, accessing the Steem with which they can use to reward their customers. Steemit can pretty much be seen as the demonstration site and the plan is that over time different people will add hundreds of different interfaces that will allow people to access the Steem blockchain any way they chose.

20180127_202311.jpg

Steemit displays everything that anyone posts on the blockchain, but not all of the other Steem interfaces do this. Prefer vlogs to blogs? Then you might want to use dTube or dLive instead. Rather just look at photos? Try Steepshot. If you like memes try dMania. Get the idea? As more and more interfaces are connected to Steem, there will be more and more ways to make Steem your own.

Some people complain about others getting lots of upvotes for just posting memes or just generally seem to frown upon memes, but other people enjoy them and that's why dMania was created; so that those people can enjoy them without bothering those who don't. Unfortunately, because many are still on the Steemit interface they don't have the ability to filter them out and continue to be bothered by it. Perhaps at some point there will be an interface that caters for blog only posts or one which allows you to filter out the types of interfaces you don't want to see posts from. If it's something people want and there is someone who can create it, then I suspect it will be created.

Personally I enjoy posts from all the different medias and I'm happy to adjust my vote according to its appeal, so I think interfaces where you can see everything will always have a place. Everyone is different though. Just remember you don't have to use only the Steemit interface.

Steem is an experiment in whatever you feel you want to experiment with and, yes, it's most certainly a social experiment, but you're the one in charge of it. So you might want to ask yourself, are you up to it? Can you handle it if your experiment doesn't yield the results you hoped for?

The Steem blockchain really is still in its formative years yet. What do you hope for or envision in its future?

~○♤○~

Sort:  

I have recently switched over to DLive over Dtube as I found it faster to upload and more people seem to be receptive to that service. I do use Steepshot as well because it's a faster way for me to upload to Steemit when I am on the go or just want to share something new or different.
Plus, I get paid for what I would have done on instagram for free.

But also the nature of Steemit makes me want to try harder to create the best, most beautiful and most valuable content that I can. Not everyone will see value in what I do, but I know that someone overseas might not have seen what I take for granted every day, so in that sense it becomes important.

busy is something that i am satisfied with as of now.What is ginabot btw?

I've on only tried steempeak, busy and blockdeals so far, but I'd like to have a look at more of the other applications to get a feel for them.

I use steemworld to see if someone has mentioned or followed me.
I use steemd give me quick rundown of my activities. There are several others. Many of these projects have died, either from lack of funding or lack of support or lack of interest. But that's the nature of these things.
It will be interesting to see where it all goes.

I use steemworld to see if someone has mentioned me

I've heard steemworld can do that, but I tend to use Ginabot. Maybe I need to revisit SW. How easy is it to find it amongst a lot of activity?

I guess a lot of projects will fall by the wayside. That's the nature of life. Hopefully the best ones should stay.

There is a tab that says 'Mentions' on the left of the screen and it's sorted into the date, so you can see who mentions you and when. If there is a lot of activity, you'd just scroll down or set the range from 7 days to 24 hours or so.

The Steem blockchain just makes information permanent on the internet.
Different sites look at different bits of that information and show it to us in different ways.
We've barely scratched the surface.
Five years from now there will be ten applications I'll be surprised weren't immediately apparent to silly 'ol 2018 me.

I'm looking forward to seeing what applications people come up with.

I didn't think like that before. When someone just share a video on Dtube, it is still a cool there but looks not much lucrative on steemit. So, the different interface has different functions and opportunity to get related things. But I still love to use steemit.

I want to try out the different applications to see what each one is like. It's really quite clever how each interface can look so different yet they're all connecting to the same base.

I'd love an interface that would filter contents based on genre and author on a given steemian's front page ! That would be great, and also would make my curation work a little easier .... I guess there's already steempeak.com ... which I use to filter out resteems when judging a steemian's activity and engagement levels... but yeah, if it can be built into steemit's own base functionality, I think it would be great :>

I like the feature to filter out resteems on steempeak. It would be great if that could be added as an option to your feed as well, because hubby wants to only see the authors he follows and not their resteems.

I post from a tablet, and Steempeak doesn't run very smoothly in the mobile version, otherwise I'd probably use it more. It's only new, though, so I'm hoping it will improve. I hear its creator, jarvie, is very receptive to suggestions on what people want to see on it.

I'm loving Steemit and the Steem blockchain. It's reward me for my effort writing. I can point out a couple of problems with steemit, for example posts only reward me only 7 days, different from a blog post that adsense pay for ever.

But is something that we have to adjust.

Besides that it's a wonderful plataform and everyone can post content for all the time, eternalized in the blockchain.

Great post mate.

Yes, having more than a 7 day chance to earn would be nice. Something is better than nothing, however, which is what I got elsewhere. I love that you can also reward others with your upvote. I wish I could reward more than I currently can.

I see that you are bilingual. Have you come across utopian-io yet? There are translation opportunities on there and if your work is accepted the upvote is very good. I also recently came across this: https://steemit.com/oracle-d/@oracle-d/introducing-the-oracle-d-platform-now-live I haven't looked into it fully, but I noticed that they mention translations too.

Greate idea! I'm already studying about utopian-io to see how can I help in translation and documentation (I love to do documentation work). Before seek rewards I'm interested in help the community, but a little upvote would be good haha.

Didn't know about oracle-d, I'll look into it too. Thanks for the tip.

No problem. Still looking into things myself.

Looks like Utopian-io don't support portuguese translation right now. :(

Maybe that needs suggesting. ;)

Dude, This thought is damn awesome, Do have a look on my predictions regarding Cryptos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62094.36
ETH 2436.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50