My Lessons to Take Home from the Hardfork.

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

As we come to the end of the week, Resouce Credits have been refilled for everyone (just about) and voting power (henceforth to be known as voting mana) is nearly back to normal levels. There have been a lot of unhappy campers and probably a lot of lessons learnt.

The biggest take away from this, for me, is seeing which witnesses came forward to let us know what was going on and what they were campaigning to see fixed. Without them we would have been in the dark as to the details of what was going on and why things had ended up with the disabling of so many accounts. It's a big wake up call to tell us to use our witness votes and use them wisely. For witnesses it's also a call to get them publishing their stance regarding the Steem Blockchain. Many of us don't vote because we don't know where each witness stands and some even vote blindly, because they don't really know what they're voting for.

It is hard to do all your research, which is why proxy voting can come in handy. If you can find someone who you know will support the right witnesses for what is important to you, put them in as your proxy, if you are struggling to do the research yourself. The option is there, so it may as well be used and should perhaps be encouraged.

IMG_20180930_115640.jpg
You can set a proxy at the bottom of the witness page

If you are a user with low account value on here, don't despair, a lot of people are fighting your corner and supporting you. I'd like to thank these witnesses who came forward with suggestions and to let us know what was going on when things got rough:
@reggaemuffin
@followbtcnews
@holger80

A new witness coming through who has always supported the little guy is @fulltimegeek. You may have already seen posts, from lots of Steemians, calling for his support. I don't think there are many witnesses who can say they barely needed to campaign for themselves, because everyone already did it for them!

Welcome back all those who survived the hardfork!

Here's hoping things will get back into a rhythm again.

~○♤○~

Sort:  

Dear my friend, i would like to say how it is true we survived to this HF20 but not for long time, due to my RC is going down and when i will be not able to commet, this will be the end of my adventure in this elte community, its a pity, i was having a pleasure to know people like you here...

Your RC will replenish like your voting power, which I realise isn't much comfort at the moment. I see you're a big commenter and I'm guessing that's what's eating up your RC. It's a frustrating situation, but there are people fighting your corner. I really hope that things will improve, because we need the interaction.

Dear my friend, yes is true, after all day long my RC have been a little recharged so i can answer you. I am not big commenter, i like to interact with people and so i use to post my comments, but it seems this is to big luxury to be used and so WTF of social network it is?

Posted using Partiko Android

Compared to me, you're a big commenter! Lol!

The irony is that we need the commenters and interactors like you. Like you say, it isn't very social without it. I hope you stick it out anyway. As your SP builds you'll not have to worry about using your RC up so much. There are plenty of people here who want to help build accounts. https://steemit.com/life/@nonameslefttouse/i-became-frustrated-long-before-many-of-you-felt-like-an-ass-for-some-of-the-things-i-said

Posted using Partiko Android

For me this HF20 was about discovering people and communities on discord. I doǹt know much about who to vote for and this is a very well put information for someone like me.

The discord communites were a sanity saver!

I don't think there are many witnesses who can say they barely needed to campaign for themselves, because everyone already did it for them!

That's what true loyalty is, you can't buy that shit!

Good leaders lead by example.

Posted using Partiko Android

This is a wake up call about the witness thing.
Kinda remind me of November

Posted using Partiko iOS

I don't think there are many witnesses who can say they barely needed to campaign for themselves, because everyone already did it for them!

And that speaks volumes for the trust and the respect that people have for this person. I think it would be totally awesome to see his name on the bar graph list in the top 20 with the light shade of blue to the left and not to the right. He could be the very first top 20 witness with the majority of his votes coming out of the minnow and redfish votes.

It most certainly does. I'm looking forward to seeing him in that top 20 position too. He's already into the top 100.

That hardfork kind of threw me. I'd heard people talking, but wasn't exactly aware that it would end up the way it did. I think, if anything, it had shown me that I actually really appreciate this network, especially the people who I've connected with in the past 10 months or so.

I've voted for a couple, but if you are able to explain it, what does voting for one actually mean for the voter? Is it like voting for the best government, or different?

I don't think anyone was expecting things to go quite the way they did! They knew that it would take about 5 days for everything to equalise, and some witnesses admit that this should have been conveyed better. The Voting Power disappearing wasn't expected and I don't think they expected so many accounts to end up unusable.

The top 20 witnesses are the decision makers on what goes through in a hardfork. If they'd refused it, this hardfork wouldn't have gone through. Many are saying that it shouldn't have gone Thor through and a few witnesses did warn that it wasn't really ready. That's why people are questioning their witness choices now. I guess you could say that voting is similar to voting your government representatives. So the idea is to vote those who have a vision for steemit that you agree with. It can be hard to find that out as a standard user here.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sometimes I wonder how some of those inactive witnesses got up there.
But truth is I have seen lots of active communities like @utopian-io and some of awesome programmers from that community that knows about codes and are helpful on the blockchain that should be voted for .

And ye we are happy we back up ❤️

It's a funny one, isn't it? I'm guessing they got up there while active and the votes just haven't been removed.

For witnesses it's also a call to get them publishing their stance regarding the Steem Blockchain.

I do exactly this. You can find my stance/criticisms pre- and post-HF on my witness account (in the form of posts) and my personal account (mostly as comments).

@ats-witness
@ats-david

I also engage regularly on both Steem.chat and Discord. I’m easy to reach, so feel free to look me up and ask questions.

You most certainly do! I know you can be very blunt at times too, but sometimes it's needed. No point in beating about the bush. ;)

@minismallholding, thank you for supporting @steemitboard as a witness.

Here is a small present to show our gratitude
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Once again, thanks for your support!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard knock out by hardfork

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63239.86
ETH 2621.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77