You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is UX and why it's the #1 Problem holding Steem back.

in #steem5 years ago

Thank you, thank you! I've been trying to say this in different places, but never get an adequate response. They just seem to ignore or skirt the issue and go on to something else. I figured Steemit out when I joined becauseI was determined to give it my best shot. I struggle to explain it to anyone else and as soon as the passkeys come up, the response is just "nah! I'll stick to facebook. That's way too complicated."

Steemit is still the most accessible and consistent interface, unless it's under attack. Steempeak is great, but not useable on a mobile device and since most users access steem via a mobile device, it's cutting a lot of us off. Partiko is great, but still had a long way to go. It cuts out on me at least once a day and really struggles with a lot of photos in the post, usually crashing. I can't access my wallet from there and have to return to Steemit for that and the search option only searches users, at least on the android one it does. DTube makes me want to weep. It's just so random as to whether it's going to work our not from one day to another and I've never managed to upload. There's a chance it's the dodgy nbn, but YouTube can manage it, so it why move from there?

Lastly, there's the Steem account. "Here is your giant, unmemorable passkey. If you lose that you lose your account with any Steem you have in it and there is no way to retrieve it. Save it and attempt to write it down, hoping you don't write it wrong. Then feel free to put your money in this account, which may be lost forever if you lose that passkey." Imagine if the banks said that!

I'd like to see more vendors enticed onto the Homesteaders Co-op from outside of Steem, but if that's their livelihood, they're going to be cautious risking their earnings on Steem and aren't going to enjoy having to figure out how to move their Steem earnings back into fiat.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I had to download remote desktop software to walk people through the different parts of the process, basically just taking over their computers and doing it for them. When it comes to that, good indicator the system isn't designed right lol

Good grief, that is a bit crazy, isn't it! I'm trying to help a friend with it when I see her, but even being there to walk her through is awkward. She asks how to do something and instead of clicking one simple button it's a string of things. Yes, I'd say very much an indicator the system needs to change.

Posted using Partiko Android

Great comment @minismallholding

Thx for taking the time to share your view.

Yours, Piotr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98