Looking Forward Along the New Steem Path.

in #steem5 years ago

20190829_153039.jpg

After all the concern of how the hardfork would affect smaller accounts, I don't think it's been as detrimental as many were thinking. It's taking a little bit more of a boost to get posts into the earning zone, but it's cents rather than dollars. This is good news, because it means comments can still be rewarded without needing copious amounts of SP. So we shouldn't stop commenting and interacting, because it’s still the best way to grow our accounts.

There are a few people unhappy at the reduction in author rewards and it is disappointing to see that drop in earnings. However, there already seems to be an increase in curation, so while author rewards may have taken a cut, I'm already seeing more votes coming in as accounts get into action on the curation side. Hopefully this will start to balance things back out again.

Personally, I feel I can't be anything other that grateful for the support of anyone, because their votes aren't unlimited and they don't have to upvote my content. I write occasionally for a couple of magazines and whenever I put an article forward I'm prepared that it might not be accepted and that the pay will vary, depending on length and how much they like it. There are other magazines in existence and they focus on different interests, so I wouldn't expect them to even be interested in my articles. You could say that these are like whales in the real world. They have the ability to pay me money, but going to them and expecting them to pay me for what I've written would be presumptuous and I certainly wouldn't then start writing articles to magazines complaining that other magazines won't buy my articles. I don't see Steem as any different really. No-one here is obliged to upvote my work or even like it. In fact, much of what I write about has a limited audience. Not everyone is interested in it and on the flip side, there are things I have no interest in and I'd be unlikely to upvote them.

Looking for the positives, curation rewards have increased and, let's be honest, curation is much easier than creating quality content anyway. I've always worked to build up my Steem Power, because I hope to be able to reward some of the amazing posts I come across as well as I feel they should be rewarded.

There seems to be some confusion about whether votes from small accounts are actually detrimental or completely worthless. They aren't and it's certainly worthwhile upvoting. In the right circumstances your vote could earn you more than it was worth. So what's your best approach to upvoting?

Firstly, don't be put off voting for the things you love, even if they don't seem to be getting much attention. If you love it, the chances are others will too and as their votes get added to it, your share of curation increases. Consider some voting trails if you want to be sure your vote will fall on quality posts. Aside from the obvious ones like @curie and @ocd, @tribevibes votes for a screened group of authors and is followed by the @tribesteemup whale vote to maximise the rewards of its trail following.

Then there are other experienced users who have set up vote trails and made the offer that you can follow their upvotes if you want to get your SP working for you, but don't have the time to find content. Off the top of my head, @whatsup has made this offer and @artemislives leads the trail for @ecotrain which has reasonable sized accounts following it. Just go to @steemauto to jump on these trails.

If you have a passion for a particular subject, the chances are there will be trails for those communities. For travel there are @travelfeed and @steemitworldmap, the @homesteaderscoop votes on homesteading related posts, @naturalmedicine does posts on natural healing, if you like photography, there is @photofeed and art has @ntopaz. I'm sure there are many more, feel free to give them a shout out in the comments.

~○♤○~

Sort:  

Until last month I did manual curation
But it does take up a lot of time
So now I follow Curie then I go through my votes and the posts that I can relate to I comment
Also I know they won't vote me, so that saves me the trouble of unvoting my posts... hahaha

Hey, thanks for the suggestions... :D

I don't always have time to manually curate, so I make use of autovotes. I think if I were to take a break for any reason I'd definitely jump on a trail or two.
You've always been very active on here and you've grown so quickly. It must take a lot of your time, though. It doesn't so long ago that you were a redfish!

Posted using Partiko Android

I have been here 23 moons according to steemd.com
I did have fun getting to know other Steemians
And I still enjoying curating, there's just so much I have learnt and been inspired by
But it does take a lot of time... now I am giving the Real World some love too hahaha

Thanks so much for mentioning the trail @minismallholding. Appreciated.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

It's worth a mention. ;D

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I am a freelance writer too! I agree that it is easier to curate than to constantly put up "quality" (quotes because what is quality?) posts. Still, I like to write often, but couldn't over the weekend as steem was down for me while other could still post, and steem was not back up for me when others were posting again.

My earnings are pretty much the same, but that is because of tribes, and because my posts earn only a little anyway, so half of a little is easier to bare with than 1/2 or a whole lot. My curation rewards are a lot better and I am sometimes getting more than what my upvote is worth back in curation.

#newsteem is great, I look forward to seeing how things pan out. This would be a perfect #ulog, which is what the marlians site was originally based off.

Have a great day <3 thank you for posting.


Posted via Marlians.com

Steem had been off and on for me too. Not too much of a problem, though, as I don't post every day anyway.

That's actually good news to hear that the smaller/newer accounts aren't seeing such a big difference and being put off. Great to hear the tribes are making a difference too. I'm still getting the feel for them. Is your preferred one marlians? What is it you like about the tribe?

Thank you four stopping by.

Posted using Partiko Android

You are really talking sence. I'm not a fan of reading lengthy articles but there are those when I see their post I spend time reading it and that's because I have been acquainted to them.

But in all, I had rather prefer spending much of my time drawing than writing long story. While there are those who would prefer otherwise.

Everything is just a matter of choice and interest.

For the HF21, I see the value of a reward being lesser than the actual curation which is what I don't actually understand.

Posted using Partiko Android

I think doing what you enjoy most is the way to go and I certainly enjoy your drawings. :D If you start doing things you don't enjoy so much, then you're just going to wonder why you're here.

The idea behind the reward increase for the curators is to encourage voting over leasing SP to bid bots. Until the hardfork, those with a lot of SP could earn more from delegating to bots than they could from curation and even self voting. People have already started bringing their SP back in order to vote, so in the long run, this should actually increase the amount of big accounts voting again, which will hopefully mean even more rewards to authors in the long run. So far, it seems to be working. I've seen accounts coming back into voting which haven't bothered for a long time.

Posted using Partiko Android

"If you start doing things you don't enjoy so much, then you're just going to wonder why you're here."
Yeah that's true and one could even end up being frustrated and give up on the way.

"People have already started bringing their SP back in order to vote, so in the long run..."
If so that's cool.

Posted using Partiko Android

I really like the perspective in your image @minismallholding and the outlook you have about the changes we may be experiencing at Steemit now.

I've always enjoyed the interaction we're able to have with each other here at Steemit, either on our own blogs or those of others. So while it's great to feel that one's posts are appreciated, according to having been upvoted, it's great now that people can share more in the rewards system, simply by engaging with those who do post. Each need each other and it seems to me that both will most likely benefit.

I like to follow my heart when it comes to upvoting too. I tend to support people who are not necessarily visual artists but those who are in contact with their creativity and have a positive attitude towards others and the planet as a whole.

I love the trail for @naturalmedicine and the @homesteaderscoop and at the moment I'm looking at @ecotrain. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

Thank you.
We all have different loves and it's great to be able to share them with like minded people. I don't think I'd still be here if I hadn't find others posting and chatting about similar interests. NM, HSCO and ecotrain are some of my favourite communities.

Posted using Partiko Android

If you have enough SP, it’s easy to decide to curate. If you don’t have and can’t afford to buy now, you are left with no option than to keep posting and hoping for the best

Do both and you increase your income all around. ;D Then the more you grow the more you can earn. I've never bought Steem, just kept building. Is slow to start, but builds quicker the the more you grow. A snowball effect.

It would be lovely to have enough SP to earn a wage just through curation, though. That would also mean the ability to really give an article what you think it's worth. Maybe one day we'll get there.

It's been what days? It will need at least a week to settle in and a month to settle in properly XD (I don't actually care how loudly and shrilly people hysterically screech that anything longer than a couple of minutes is too intolerably long and they shouldn't be forced to suffer such incredible inconvenience XD)

I'm pretty sure I'm defective

We're just impatient creatures, aren't we? ;D
And I'm pretty sure we're all defective in some way or another.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63287.47
ETH 2569.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81