Downvotes it is

in #steem5 years ago

For the longest of times we've been talking about the importance of flags for this system to actually work. Of course, there's the abuse of them, the unproductive fights and what have you, but all in all they've always been a net positive in my opinion. That being said something the word flag always had a terrible connotation.



I'm glad that Steemit Inc has changed condenser's front end to now say downvotes. To me this not only made sense because it's more familiar to an outside user looking in, but because it has a different association all together. Flags to me is content you label for removal on legacy social media, and as we know what gets written on this blockchain is here to stay, so it didn't quite make much sense.

On the other hand, downvotes is precisely what you would find in forums and the ever popular reddit. If a comment or a post is not that valuable, or it's plagiarism, etc, then users just downvote it. Again outside of the outliers and bad actors, the idea being that people act in their own best interest due to the consequence of not doing so. If I'm an asshole in real life people around me let me know, it's very much the same.

I applaud Steemit Inc for making this move, and doing so rather quickly.

MenO

Sort:  

Is it just a cosmetic change that is mechanically the same? Makes more sense to call it that I suppose but haven’t looked deeper into it.

If it is the same, what are we going to do to come up with something as cool sounding as flag wars? :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

blockchain wise it's the same, psychologically I think it's gonna be different for peeps.

Yes, people will hopefully less offended by getting downvoted.
Flagging is seen as a flagrant attack.
Even a 1 cent flag could make someone rage.

It is a good change.
Modifying the icon from a flag to the down-arrow is significant.
Changing the placement to right next to upvote was also just as important.

Downvoting is way more familiar to more people. Flagging does just seem a bit to much.

Posted using Partiko Android

I think so great option is introduce by STEEMIT to get things clear as per the concept of blog.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm glad too!

I think it is a great change! I may not feel the ability to do so for the first time ever as it can be taken as feedback.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yep, finally. Let's start fla...ehm...I mean... downvoting now :-D

Funny how so many other clients had employed that logic for so long, but still there's been heaps of discussions regarding Steemit.

Posted using Partiko Android

I haven't been around here much lately and am interested to see this change. Is there any change to the underlying functionality or is just a cosmetic UX alteration?

Edit: should have read comments first, I see I've been beaten to this question

Flags are good just that when it is been abused, it becomes bad. Flag always have its own usefulness

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63578.99
ETH 2611.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85