You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Admit: I Use The Upvote Bots (And Here’s Why)

in #steem6 years ago

At first I was against the use of bots and to me they were an affront to the whole creative process and is evil.

I have now changed my view as I see them as a necessary way for things to be allocated especially from a Whales standpoint because let's be honest there is just so many content out there and even with the dolphins, orcas and different curation guilds it can't be all covered.

Some great posts will still slip through the cracks.

The only bad is when upvote bots are abused by people who plagiarize, post one image or short content and then call on 5-6 different bots. It's good that a lot of witnesses and whales who operate these bots are starting to look at quality and banning abusers.

I laugh when I see these shitposters complain about their one image placeholder post not being upvoted and they are informed that are banned and thank you for the donation hahaha.

I use bots now to get some of what I think is my good quality posts and get them back to the trending page and hopefully get more eyeballs and upvotes for it.

I usually just use one upvote bot for a post but I have seen some people that call 4-10 bots to their post and its funny when they have more bot comment confirmation comments than actually comments from people. It's funny and sad because they are exploiting the system.

So am I for the removal of bots? No I am not because they are a necessary way to spread the wealth. Yet I am for more stringent guidelines against abuse.

We just can't have a Marvel post with one image and two paragraphs taken from wikipedia and paraphrased a bit so that Cheetah will not flag it and call 5-6 bots to upvote it. Just does not make sense to me and RIP to those who are creating good content.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63186.04
ETH 3392.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50