Why Don't We Have A Steem Marketplace?! (100% Powered Up Post!)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem7 years ago

619A4733.jpg
I wanted to have a thumbnail for this post, so please enjoy this candid picture of my wife, @kotturinn lookin' good putting some shoes on!

So why don't we have a Steem marketplace?! Or do we and I'm simply unaware of it?

I was thinking that it would be cool to at least have a buy/sell/trade category on here if there's no dedicated site/market. Some precautions would of course need to be taken such as some kind of verification, certain level of SP, etc. if there's no escrow service available. Or if there's an upstanding, well trusted/invested person that could perform escrow services for a small slice of the transaction, that would be cool.

I've traded on forums like Something Awful since around 2003 and it would be awesome to see something on that scale here, but for Steem, SBD, BTC, or alts.

So does this exist!? And if it doesn't, lets make it happen! I have a lot of records and video games that I'd like to unload for Steem or other crypto. Hell, we could even offer services as well?

Input? Ideas? Comments? Let 'er rip!

Sort:  

There was peerhub at one point but not much interest combined with a declining userbase for a little while.

I don't think that I ever heard about peerhub. Was it a separate site?

Yeah, its still up and still "accepts Steem" just not sure if active or populated.

https://www.peerhub.com/?q=&filter=marketplace

https://steemit.com/@peerhub

Would be killer to see Open Bazaar accept Steem. I'd like to see that platform pick up more action.

Yeah.. feels like I've heard about OB so long ago but then followed by silence for a long time.

OpenBazaar takes Steem and SBD, and Bitcoin, and a ton of other coins, I have had more sales on OB than Peerhub (none on Peerhub), but have listings on both. Decentralized marketplace seems near necessary to benefit all cryptocurrency users.

Technically you could use any site that accepts Bitcoin and use Shapeshift and you can sell on any site that accepts Bitcoin and have it directly converted to Steem if you would want.

Yup, for sure. But I was thinking from the angle of operating with this currency as a community. Would be cool to see the community grow to the point to where they can trade transparently and their reputation would follow.

I've thought about this for years as well, but the issue is always about gaining traction and capturing that certain "je ne sais quoi". I've also tried alternative sites like offerup. Good luck trying to find what you want at a reasonable price (including a buyer, if you're selling something) anywhere except ebay (and maybe craigslist, though I personally haven't had much luck there myself). One thing ebay's definitely got right on (besides the liquidity) is the trust factor as well (which of course, leads to even more liquidity, causing a reflexive feedback loop). It often generally feels almost as safe as buying directly from a store.

So, with all that in mind, any thoughts as to why PeerHub isn't quite cutting it?

Great input, thanks! I honestly haven't even visited PeerHub yet, but will once I get some free time to relax this weekend.

Also, just followed you!

cool, thanks - I had already followed you too! :)

This would be great. Love the idea.

Though, honestly, do we really need a seperate site? Post it, promote it, sell it and collect some steem for the post! ;)

That's what I'd like to see to be honest! It also builds community!

Cool! I'll try using the #steemshop tag!

My friend great work! :)

thank you for sharing

I agree. I would love to see this. I'm surprised somebody hasn't made a site or app yet.

Yeah, same here. I figured that something already existed and that I was simply unaware of it.

I do agree that alternative trade sites to ebay and etsy is a good thing, it's not just about financial backing. It's also about protecting the consumer. I've been burned on lesser known trade sites and am not anxious to have it happen again. Insurance can be a costly asset to a trade site so a lot of sites don't carry it, leaving the consumer totally vulnerable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60265.23
ETH 2324.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55