Shipping on Steemit: Connecting people 5000+ miles apart ! - Learning what $980 shipping feels like - sos Blog # 1

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

I'm SHIPPING on STEEMIT! ( #sos )

Yup, thats right...This is my #first blog of my brand new series - #shippingonsteemit . ( #SOS )

I will start this series by explaining how last night's experience with meeting a gentleman from Accra, Ghana...has allowed me to take my apparel business to the next level by shipping a big box of apparel across the globe!

For some of you that may not know, My name is Rich and I'm a serious and passionate #entrepreneur working FULL-TIME within the #crypto space . I've currently running 3 active ventures:

  • CryptosCloset.com ~ Crypto Apparel Online Store
  • ToshiDesk.com ~ Social Charting Platform for Crypto Traders
  • MasterTraderCoin ~ MTR Cryptocurrency traded on Bittrex.com

I've been really working hard to better my brands and CryptosCloset.com is a company of mine that I just started but has massive potential to grow!

I was contacted by a #steemit community member named Elishagh (pictured above) in a slack channel last night - Elishagh's username here on #steem is @dashpaymag . Elishagh lives in Accra, Ghana! He's not even out of his teenage years and is a very smart man, with a great passion for Dash - a crypto currency that's been around for quite some time. He also runs DashpayMagazine.com which he runs to support the Dash community. He's certainly a really awesome guy all around so I was happy that he contacted me.

"STEEMIT was able to connect @cryptoscloset and @dashpaymag together to facilitate a sale of goods over 5000 miles apart in less than 10 minutes!"

~ Rich Territo CEO of CryptosCloset.com

He contacted me in regards to purchasing some shoes I blogged about here on Steemit a week or so ago. https://steemit.com/marketplace/@mastertrader777/steem-marketplace-nike-air-max-90-s-accepting-steem-as-payment-escrow-accepted

He was a man on a mission, and we got right into conversing about those shoes and if I can ship to Ghana. I let him know that I could definitely send the shoes to him as #cryptoscloset .com ships WORLDWIDE. He then asked what other shoes I had. I told him about my new Jordans, and my Patrick Ewings and he got so excited. I went ahead and took some pictures for him to make sure he liked what he saw. He almost lost it overcome with joy, and I smiled as I can tell he was becoming overjoyed over the selection I had.

About 3 hours or so had passed and we were still talking. Ended up Elishagh wanted a lot more than just shoes. He wanted shirts, pants, watches, and I went though my whole closet clearing it out of shirts I've never worn, and shirts that just don't see much attention anymore. Elishagh counted out 10 of apparel items out, along with 3 pairs of shoes, and 2 watches. Full album of what I sent to Ghana for @dashpaymag - http://imgur.com/a/UlKNz

It gave me quite a good feeling to be able to offer him the things he was looking for. He told me he loves watches so I look at the Casio G-Shock watch on my wrist, took a picture and said "I'll throw this $90 watch in for $10 in #btc ."

So I asked him what his address was... he said "We don't have addresses here"
I came back with, "well do you have an address to post office near by?"...he said its closed most of the time. This was just an eye opener to me, and I felt like I had to not only send what he wanted but even more...I threw him about 10 extras like:

So of course after last night's conversation I kept my end of the bargain and drove through Downtown Tampa, on a mission of my own... Why am I the only one on the road?

Operation Ghana ~ #sos ~ #shippingonsteemit

I arrived at FedEx pretty quickly being the only one on the road, and managed to pack everything into 16X16X16 box.

Sealed that bad boy up and asked the man how much I own him.

He informed me of the cost to ship this box to Ghana, and I thought to myself wow, here's another business proposition! ~ but we'll save that for Blog # 2 of the #shippingonsteemit series...

I never thought I'd be paying over $980.00 to ship anything in my life!

...But I had a blast doing it!

Be sure to follow me to catch Blog #2 of my new series #shippingonsteemit

@mastertrader777 <---That's me =]

www.CryptosCloset.com
www.ToshiDesk.com

#Steemon #shipping #worldwide #trade #steem # cryptoscloset

Ps: If anyone would like to donate their time to helping me get some sort of #shippingonsteemit ~ ( banners / logos / graphics ) - That way I can make videos for my upcoming series additions.

Sort:  

Hi @mastertrader777 I love this post, I am an entrepreneur myself and applaud your accomplishments. I am told by one of our liaisons that you would like to join @steemdrive as a liaison for billboard facilitation in Tamapa, welcome, that is great! We need people like you to change the world.

Yeah the airfreight shipping is crazy, seafreight is much cheaper. I have been in import/export for 10 years and only airfreight/airmail small items. Seafreight however can take 20-40 days. We need to invest in teleportation, lol :)

Hello @steemdrive - Thanks for checking it out. I appreciate the kind words.

Yes, you've heard right...I want to use my credible contacts here in Tampa to get the word out about Steemit! I think it's a great opportunity to attract more users. I see Steem growing to over 100K live day to day users within 3-4 months if the right audience is penetrated with clean marketing.

Shipping is no joke, so I'm currently speaking to a few people on getting a business shipping account - basically pre paying for shipping which will allow me to cut the cost on this. @Dashpaymag wanted the package in less than 10 days, and tracking shows it to be there by Monday...I filled out the customs forms at FedEx before it went out so it should slide right through without a hiccup.

I'm already talking to @dashpaymag about another venture I'm going to give birth to with the help from his eyes and ears on the grounds of Ghana.

That will be the #2 Blog within this series. If you will, try to get the word out about this blog so I can use it as an example for clients of mine that I want to bring on board to Steemit.

Cheers,

Rich

hi sorry for not reading article. i just want cool steem shirt from 7 million articles back.

Go ahead and email me at admin[at]cryptoscloset[dot]com

I can make that happen!

marking and demarking bumps the comment to the top?

Voting will move your post to the top yes.

Africa has loads of opportunities, people pay huge prices to send money home, while working in other countries.. Come and visit )

I just might. Maybe I should do a Steemit #crowdfund to raise money for airfare ?

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 9.9 and reading ease of 69%. This puts the writing level on par with Michael Crichton and Mitt Romney.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59207.83
ETH 2464.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43