Today Is My 2nd Birthday As A Steemian

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

DSC_0016

Steemitboard made a comment today and told me this account was created exactly two years ago. I did not, however, become active until in June.

I was told about Steem by @gamer00 in February 2017. I wasn't hugely enthusiastic at first. Even the rewards were quite insignificant at the time since the price of STEEM was something like $0.1 at that time. I invested some more in Bitcoin that spring. Too bad that altcoins were pretty much flying under my radar until the summer. The price of Steem grew more than 15-fold during the spring, although it retraced to about $1-$1.5 in the summer and to about $0.8 by November before the great bull run started. I should've done like @gamer00 did and exchanged my coins and whatever fiat I invested back then for STEEM. That would've made me an instant Dolphin at the price level.

But more important that wallowing in regret is figuring out what can be learned from the experience. The price of STEEM is kind of low again but development is happening on such a broad front that it is getting difficult to keep track of everything. The price is bound to reflect that sooner or later. Too bad I don't have too much loose change at the moment. Moving and buying all the new furniture, lawnmowers and whatnot last year really drained my bank account. :)

DSC_0965

This is an ideal time to keep building one's account both in terms of accumulating Steem Power and networking. It's relatively easy now as many people who came here only for quick profits have pretty much left the building. One such Steemian who is a 2016'er actually told me he's having real difficulty motivating himself to do anything but shitpost because the dollar value of the rewards is down the toilet. He said Steem "was fucked" by people and that he's no longer a believer in decentralization. :) I think that approach is not conducive to long-term success.

Steem is undergoing a great deal of organic growth at the moment. The hype around Steem is pretty much non-existent. Because I'm in this for the long haul, that is a good thing from my perspective. There are many higher market cap projects that are nothing but hot air and promises. Steem is where actual building is taking place and the best part of it is that as Steemit Inc has been forced to lay off most of its staff, the community has stepped up in a serious way.

DSC_0176

My own approach has been a steady grind regardless of price movements. They haven't and will not move me at all. Hundreds of Steemians have become an important part of my online social environment now and I see no reason to pack up and leave even if the price were to continue stay at a low level. There simply is no viable competition around and even if there were, leaving this place and setting up shop there would involve another learning curve and missed opportunities on Steem.

I'm very grateful to @gamer00 for telling me about Steem and his continuing support that was very important particularly in the early phase of my journey. I would also like to thank @acidyo and @tarazkp for their benevolent support. With the passage of time, my support base has grown organically. I want to express special thanks to @harkar who suggested to the people who run the @ocdb bot that I be added to the whitelist in December last year. I was. Thank you to @harkar and the administrators of @ocdb!

Sort:  

two years on steem, how cool. Happy steemiversary 🎂🎁

Thank you!
$rewarding 25% 15 min

Congrats on the 2 years Markku :)

Oh wow, happy Steemit birthday! It's been quite the ride hasn't it?

Thank you! Very few people who I've discussed Steem as an investment would've had the stomach for the kind of price volatility we have experienced.
$rewarding 25% 15 min

Congratulations on your two years anniversary on stemming @markkuantunen.

Thanks!
$rewarding 25% 15 min

Happy anniversary!! Well done!
You have come a long way and you have made several important contributions to the community of your followers!!

Keep up the good work!
Cheers.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations! I just joined today and it's so cool to see people like you in Steemit!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi @markkujantunen!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.724 which ranks you at #5161 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 343 contributions, your post is ranked at #49.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got a 51.90% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @markkujantunen! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 24 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58990.94
ETH 2670.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44