You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Battle tested and ready: Building Up Steem for the future

in #steem6 years ago (edited)
Am I a community thinker Am I a community developer Am I looking long-term Am I committed to powering up as much as possible Am I using my VP significantly on the community Do I care about the platform's longevity

Yes.
No
Yes.
Yes.
Yes.
Yes.

When it comes to communities I don't know which community I should be thinking about. With SMTs and Hive, there will be significant fragmentation of the current community. I hope to be active in a community of photographers and will found a community of go players if necessary to name the two most important ones. I wonder how many of my current followers will follow me into those communities. Time will tell.

I'm very excited about SteemMonsters - and not because I'd ever want to play it but because it's an app that takes a Steem account and purchasing some STEEM to get started with. That's not the attention economy envisioned by the founders of Steem but it could be things like that that will provide most of the real-world value of Steem in the future.

Sort:  

Well, with the way you get around the platform and comment/upvote, I would actually class you as a community developer. It was less in the building of a niche and more in the general sense I meant it.

I appreciate your words. :D

Anyway, the I really wonder how the current group of 60,000 Steemians active daily will transform in the coming years when the platform becomes better equipped to handle separate communities.

I am not sure but I think that those who are unwilling to engage are likely going to struggle unless they can buy in. It is going to close out a lot of the spammers and low quality too.

I'm imaging the future of communities to be a very different animal compared to what we have now. Many of them will be focused on specific topics. I have a feeling that those who tag along bigger accounts than themselves in hopes of upvotes will be left wondering if they should find new high SP holders to gather around who actually share their interests, if they can find them, or endure those people who they know from the early days going on about stuff in their niche communities that does not interest them in the least.

I know less than five go players on Steem. But when the time comes I will be devoting a lot of my time here to developing the go community. A greater number of my followers will follow me into photographers' communities I suppose. I could be sighted in a few others. My followers and my active followers in particular are a motley crew having few things in common. This is why Steem Power is crucial. You will not be able to rely on even community support if you don't power up. The original communities we have now will be something we will have to mine the blockchain to accurately remember.

I think those searching for upvotes from those they aren't actually interested in now are going to struggle later as it will become apparent if they are actually interested in the content or not. It is going to take a lot of work to engage with a community one has no interest in.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69371.89
ETH 3768.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71