If Your Author Rewards Were Negligible Would You Still Be On Steem?

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

DSC_1025.jpg

What negligible means varies from person to person as different people have different circumstances. But everyone has some limit below which sums of money are essentially not worth the trouble. Is there are an opportunity cost to being on Steem as in using Steem apps as opposed to some other online platform?

It's hard for me to put a finger on an exact amount per day I'd have to earn for me to consider this worthwhile. I am thinking in terms of STEEM, of course. I earn about 4-6 STEEM organically per day on average including curation. The use of @ocdb allows me to triple that amount. That's about 15 STEEM a day on average. With STEEM at 40 cents, that's about $5 a day or about €4.5. I wouldn't consider that negligible. I think that's about the right amount given that my posting activity and networking weren't slowed down by the deepest recesses of the bear market and that I bought a DSLR and taught myself how to use it.

I do photography for fun. To be able to earn a couple of thousand worth of STEEM per year mostly by publishing my photos is a really nice bonus. But, to be honest, if I made nothing here, I'd rather post my photos on Instagram or some other mainstream platform because I would then at least have chance of someone noticing them and I could earn some recognition.

But the biggest reason I'm active on Steem is the expectation of the value of the platform growing considerably. If history is any guide, investors (=speculators) will start looking for lesser coins to dump their gains from Bitcoin when the BTC bull run starts to show signs of exhaustion. I expect that to happen in perhaps 1-2 years. Bitcoin has only been warming up the past couple of months. (Not financial advice, yadda yadda... DYOR)

Sort:  

I don't think many people would be on steem if money was not involved, so this probably would be the same

Creators will always create - whether there is a reward, or there isn't.

I wouldn’t bank on many of them doing it here should it come to pass that they lost all of their rewards.

Posted using Partiko iOS

My view as a creator is that even a tiny reward is better than no reward on other platforms. My content has recently moved from being Steem-only to being platform agnostic.

To me, it doesn't make a difference if I get zero recognition or reward on any platform, it is about documenting my experiences, journeys and learnings. It's someting I might reflect upon some day, or maybe someone will stumble across it and think "that @holoz0r guy sure was strange" :D

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi @markkujantunen!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.976 which ranks you at #3624 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 125 places in the last three days (old rank 3749).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 179 contributions, your post is ranked at #121.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got a 36.73% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @markkujantunen! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 25 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70118.22
ETH 3546.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.89