STEEM FORGE Progress Report 1: SET UP

in #steem7 years ago

steemforge1-01.png

Hey folks, this is going to be an update post, as I want to be as transparent as possible when it comes to this project.

This will have all kinds of information as to the state of the STEEM MARINES content. Recent experiences, and everything in between.

Status of Video Content

So, one of the things that I promised was doing high-quality video content. I mean, it's a great idea to do so. If I do video content, I can start uploading our content to youtube and D-tube to really help spread the word of what we're doing.

I've never done video content before, and really before all this, I wanted to keep my identity pretty much a secret. That's no longer going to be the case.

As such, if we really want to do this good, we're going to need equipment to do it. So, what I'll be doing is picking up some decent cameras and tripods soon. I may get a haircut too speaking of which.

Status of Supporter Rewards

Another important thing to think report on is the supporter rewards.

I thought about the best way to do it. And that's Supporter Loot Crates.

These will be called STEEM Crates. And will be available in tiers. In those will be all kinds of Steem related things, as well as miniatures and something or several things related to narratives and lore.

Now, I have to calculate how much revenue I can sustain to set a budget on what's going to be sent out, but the idea is very simple. Higher contribution, more stuff.

Most likely this will be tiered, as well as the rank. So even if you're the biggest user supporting, which is @cryptoctopus, the free things he will be getting will be proportioned in a way so that I don't get overwhelmed finiancially and continue to be picking up the things that I need to make this a reality.

But, definitely, early supporters are going to be rewarded heavily as we start this up.

However, I need the Lore writer to see the best optimal way in terms of lore. I haven't been able to talk to anyone really about this, but I'm building up a team now.

Status on Staffing

Well, remember this is about a guy who's going to try to spread the awesomeness of steem to the outside world through quality gaming. It's not commercialized. It's funded through support.

Even still, I can't achieve the dream I have by myself. I'm going to need talents outside my field. Stuff like creating a discord bot that assigns roles based on votes and patronage, Or someone who can put together a good video entry for the various types of content. So all of these things need to come together, and as such I'm slowly scraping together of willing members of the steemit community.

That being said, I am now actively looking for community support. I just released this post which announces that our discord server is actively looking for Greeters and Moderators.

I've also announced the fact that we are officially looking for a Creative writer to help create the lore content. This is a really big step. The good news is that I have a few people who have contacted me who were interested in this.

Status in general

We've picked up a lot of things that are going to get us started on producing content.

Having the creative writer on board is going to help with making decisions on how some things should be done on the foundation level. And that's really what this first week getting into this is all about.

Got a shipment of some supplies just today, I'll wait till tommorow to post about it because there are missing bits and pieces.

Airbrush set is on the way. Lot of people jealous of that hehe. I'll post about it and show you guys everything.

That's all for this post Folks.


Want to become apart of this?

This is where the magic will be happening. Votes, news, content updates, exclusives will all be available at this discord server.

https://discord.gg/eh5pcGJ

Everyone is welcome to join, but keep note that this will not be a channel to spam posts in.

This is very much a work in progress, but I have a very general idea of what it will all look like. Everyday I'm hard at work laying the foundation of what could possibly be one of the coolest things that steemit has ever seen.

Share your thoughts

Dialogue is completely open, share your opinions, what you think should happen, what I could do, anything. I will reply to your comments. The is one thing that I'm really looking for feedback.


Sort:  

Despite just being excited about the Steem Marines in general, I’m also really excited to see what kind of systems and structure you set up for patrons/backers. I firmly believe in using the Steem voting system as a replacement for Kickstarter or Patreon. It’s just a matter of time before a savvy developer builds a UI to help participants and project creators automatically track their funding.

That's kind of one of the issues, is that its a bit harder to track how much someone's upvoting is worth. It's something that's value is speculative, even with a pegged SBD. You can't really count on the rewards until they're paid out. Instead, Patrons and Backers should be treated similiarly but also differently, like 2 sides of a coin. Especially if something happens and theres no post rewards coming through, patrons would be able to pick up running costs.

That being said. I think a real good way to give back to supporters is with a lootcrate-esq system. The problem with that is a scenario where people are signing up for the loot and dont care about the content. And that's kind of bad. A remedy to this, is to mix the items that go in these crates so that they're steem based and also Steem marine related.

I just need to talk to someone who has experience with this. I want to get it right, and I want to get it right on the first try. xD

Cant wait for u to begin, following u now, hope u do same.

Thanks for this good post ,love your posts @maliceres

So much has happened in just a couple of days! You should be proud of the progress you've made thus far.

What are the types of things that you'll be making videos of?
Very, very excited about the Steem Crates - it's a great idea and really has shown to be extremely successful through Kickstarter. Once people start receiving their crates, it also lends itself to advertising and word of mouth about this project.

Join the discord people! Everyone is super nice and really friendly.

So excited for this

You doing great boss!!!

Great post.... Can't wait for you to begin. Thumbs up

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62966.47
ETH 2631.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79