SteemPlus and the wonders that it does: Know if you are talking to a spammer

in #steem6 years ago (edited)


Source

Sometimes we think bots are annoying and wish we could just get rid of them. For those who have been on Steemit for fairly long time, they may not even notice or notice but ignore scripted comments from bots which I myself do most of the time. For whatever reason, I just happened to pay attention to one of @steemplus-bot’s comments.

I have been seeing @steemplus-bot’s comment on newbies introductory posts as I scout for articles to feature on #payitforward contest. I wonder why I did not get it on my own introductory post. After seeing it for several times, I went on clicking the link on the comment and I eventually installed the SteemPlus extension on my laptop. It works only on selected browsers Google Chrome, Opera and Firefox. I tried installing it from the web on mobile Chrome but it does not work. It is not in Play Store after all.

It has many features and functionalities which I believe are very helpful but let me highlight some of my favourites.

Sincerity Feature (User Classification)

The most helpful feature to me is the user classification or sincerity feature as the SteemPlus developers call it. Following are the user classifications that I have seen so far:

  • Human
  • Spammer
  • Bot
  • Pending

When you have SteemPlus extension installed on your browser, it displays the user classification beside the username. Here is a screenshot taken from feed view. Notice the Pending, Spammer and Human tags after the reputation score of the username.


I captured this from the https://steemit.com/created/ feed, not my personal feed.

The tag also applies on comments or replies view so I would immediately know if a spammer came to leave comment on my post. 😃

This user classification feature is very helpful for me to know who I am communicating with, especially if I am upvoting or looking for articles to feature. Certainly, spammers are not worth upvoting or featuring. Click here for more details as to how the user classification is done.

More details on the user banner

This is how the banner looks like without SteemPlus extension.

Notice the reputation score to be a whole number, number of posts to be too many because it includes all comments and replies even to other posts, and notice that the background is clear.

This is how the banner looks like with the SteemPlus extension.

  • The reputation score has the decimal value which tells you how near you are to the next level.
  • There is an i-icon beside the reputation score. When you hover the mouse pointer over that, it pulls more details about your voting power as shown on this screenshot.
  • The number of posts is also much lower because it shows only main posts. Comments and replies are not included.
  • To the left of the banner shows the user badge (plankton for my case).

I see the same banner details on other user’s page. So I know who my minnow, dolphin and orca upvoters are! 😊

Another beauty of this extension is that you do not need a different app or browser. It works on your default Steemit view because it is embedded on the browser - again, not a separate website or app.

Those are my favorite features but as I mentioned, there are more features. You can even see the percentage and value of each upvote on your posts. Some bots are very helpful afterall. 😊

Click here for a more detailed documentation and for the installation guide.


Join #ccc and get guaranteed daily income and payout for newbies by following the honor code - The Creed - with conditions and limitations. Click here for the details. Thanks to @freedomshift for this initiative!

Upvote Follow Resteem @macoolette

Sort:  

I appreciate this greatly. Any way to parse the bots from the humans is a useful tool on platforms like this.

You're welcome. I am glad that I have shared something useful to others.

You're welcome. I am
Glad that I have shared something
Useful to others.

                 - macoolette


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Nice review @macoolette😉 never use this one because ginabot told me about the voters and the percentage too. I saw the reputation point on eSteem surfer and app too, but never thought about finding people that chategorized as human, spammer and pending.. that's really cool.

Steemworld.org also play a significant role on my journey though I seldom use it because I feel comfort and got all things I need through eSteem app. But I think this steemplus would be a great help to find human bloggers for the pifc😉 Thank you

I agree there are many apps in the Steem blockchain and as I try to understand as much as I can, the more I get confused so I just try to limit with what are needed.

I edited the article and added this:

Another beauty of this extension is that you do not need a different app or browser. It works on your default Steemit view because it is embedded on the browser - again, not a separate website or app.

I have also been using steemworld.org for quite sometime now. I refer to it when I want more details.

You're welcome. 😊

Problem is 😆 if you're a good writer and have basic readers.. it's hard to get a dolphin votes😂😂 I'm kidding. I like to use steemit.com when it comes to create a full html code to organize the rich format of the post. Steemplus is an added value to steemit experience. 😉

You mean dolphins are basic readers? Ahh, hahaha!

So far, I got significantly good 6% of upvotes from dolphins based on abh12345's chart as I presented here.

No.. dolphin is our best voters to gain reputation but our basic readers are planktons and minnows😁 because dolphins and whales are too busy to read except their own community's best author.

Yes, they may be busy. But with all due fairness to my dolphins and orca upvoters, they are also busy upvoting and resteeming posts that they support, like mine once in a while. 😊

We also have this legendary dolphin guy surpassinggoogle who is very busy and keeps resteeming posts of our fellow Filipinos. When he strikes resteeming, my feed is really very full of his resteems. I can scroll my screen for many times and I am still seeing resteems. That is why sometimes I am very late to see posts of my other following because it gets swamped over by the resteemed posts. Surpassinggoogle is amazing. 😊

Yes, surpassinggoogle is one of the nice orca😉 he's doing really great with the ulogs though I never made one due to steemconnect asked my master key to enter the site.

You're deserves the resteem anyway, people can get so many wonderful and useful information from your posts, soon you'll be a great minnows too.

I'm happy that some orcas and dolphins votes for my posts, like arcange, good-karma and his eSteem team which sometimes scare me to post a random crappy post for fun😊 they're busy to spot many great posts to vote and we're lucky to get theirs😆

Yap, they are few versus so many of us red fishes for them to support and yet they find time to do so. Hopefully, we get there too. 😃

Oh cool.. Thanks for sharing this @macoolette! The wonders of technology :) It sure helps to know who we are "talking" to.

I thought it will really be a good help for many that is why I made this short review so I can share here. I am glad that you like it. You're welcome. 😊

😊👍👌 It helped. Wouldn't have known about it if it wasn't because of your post :D.

howdy tonight macoolette! well, this looks like one bot I can live with, I think this is a great tool to use on your steemit journey so good post and great job of reviewing!

It is indeed a good tool. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58668.45
ETH 3162.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44