Sort:  

Nope. Not yet anyway. :)

There was a time 25 years ago where I was having a bad day (someone had just stolen a new mountain bike off the back porch of our part of a triplex), where I told a co-worker and friend who was visiting that if there were ever time to start drinking (there were many other things going on—the bike was the last straw), now was it. I even told him I was going to get a beer. A root beer. :)

haha a root beer! That's cute, but also smart. What a terrible time to start drinking that would have been.

You are a rarity though I think, and that's not good or bad, just "is" .

Well, I'm among a few relatively speaking, I know. It's all religion based for me, so I can't take all of the credit. I mean, I suppose I could go against that particular part, and some do, but as I said, so far, I've managed not to.

I agree, that would be the worst time to take it up, but even if it's taken up before that during a party or something that's more of a happy occasion, it's likely to carry through the unhappy scenario, too, right? Because now it's associated with happiness.

What do I know. I just watch the beer commercials with the healthy and happy coeds drinking beer and playing on the beach and wonder what my life could have been. :) just kidding. :)

hahaha that's funny! I know you're kidding, but I wonder how many kids think like that for real?

By how many start to drink as early as they can, it would seem like the advertising is working to some degree. You don't get to see the hangovers, the vomiting, the accidents or the time spent in jail for DUI or other dumb things for the irresponsible drinking. If that happened in a commercial, it wouldn't seem to be so appetizing, don't you think? :)

Those would make far more realistic commercials now, wouldn't they?!

If I remember correctly, they do see something like this if they take drivers education. At least here in Oregon. I'm not sure if it's entirely around drunk driving, or that and accidents in general, like speeding, or driving in bad weather, but anyway, the film I've seen is pretty scary. It wasn't while I was in high school, though. Don't know why I saw it, but it's pretty effective at scaring you out of driving completely if you let it. Unfortunately, the recall dulls, the effect fades, and the next thing you know, folks are doing exactly what they swore they would never do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95