You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Case for "Enlightened Self-interest" on Steem /Help me fill up the @openmic reward pool this week/

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

I appreciate you speaking from the heart in this post and agree with many of the points you made. From the very beginning of my journey on Steemit, I have looked for ways to help and build the community and Open Mic is my small way of doing that.

What really inspires me is to see how engaging this community has become as it grows and thrives. You and your attitude about giving to the community are a big part of what makes this whole thing work.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts, your music, and articulating this pay-it-forward approach to Steemit.

All rewards collected from people like yourself who have decided to contribute to @openmic will be returned 100% as prizes for those entering.

Here are a couple posts you may find interesting and pertain to the topic of this post. Thanks for your contribution as well.

https://steemit.com/gifteconomy/@stellabelle/the-reason-you-don-t-understand-steemit-it-s-like-a-gift-economy-not-a-commodity-economy

https://steemit.com/steem-help/@luzcypher/the-most-valuable-steemit-post-begins-in-your-head-tips-to-mazimize-your-social-currency-on-steemit

Sort:  

Oh, thx for dropping by. I can only imagine the amount of work you do for Openmic every week. Going through 300 videos, writing the announcements, listing every single entry that week. It really looks like a full time job. And now youre running at a loss. You really shouldnt be.
That is one of those unfair things that i tried to talk about in the post...
Those like you that give themselves every week for the community, for the betterment of the whole platform should not be taking a loss.

You guys helped us build a listener base, you helped us earn Steem, i mean i met an amazing and supremely talented group of people (Helpies) through participating in openmic.
Really, whats a few hours and a couple SBD when considering what openmic has done for me.

And as i write in my post. Its still all in the end in my own interest that Steem and openmic succeeds. :D
(really no need to return anything. I just want @pfunk to leave 1 comment on any of my videos. That will do fine. haha)

Just for the record, I don't usually run at a loss, just every now and then. Steemit and Open Mic have been very good to me too and I'm very grateful for everyone involved in this platform and community.

And yes, it has become a full-time job to run Open Mic, but listening to beautiful music like the stuff you contribute is inspiring and joy.

Great links. Highly inspiring and motivating. EVERYBODY needs to read this. And it's funny, I really feel like this is a great philosophy for life in general. We gotta work together and remember that this world is ours to share. Thanks @luzcypher

One cool side effect of getting involved in Steemit is it has inspired me to conduct my real life in a more giving manner. The gift economy I find here has translated and migrated into my real life more than it would have before. That's a good thing. As you say:

We gotta work together and remember that this world is ours to share.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57062.81
ETH 3068.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43