You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Got a Problem with Steem's Reward System? Read This!

in #steem8 years ago

Thank you @sean-king! I've been meaning to write a post about this for a while and now I won't have to.

An important purpose--maybe the most important purpose--of the author/blogging reward is to serve as a mechanism for the distribution a valuable currency (Steem) to the public...

...the purpose of Steem is first and foremost to place a valuable currency into circulation.

I've been thinking this for the past week. Steemit is by far the best cryptocurrency funnel I've ever seen. How many times have we seen ridiculous (in comparison) ways of distributing a new crypto? "Post your public address here and get some free coin!" How does that accomplish the goal of getting people to believe the token you're giving away for free has any value at all?

Steemit is doing that in a whole new way, and it's brilliant.

On a related note, I just posted about a Stylish script you can use to hide the $ symbols on the site. I'm 30 minutes in to my 24h challenge so far and it's really, really interesting.

Sort:  

The post is great and that is why I upvoted it and also upvoted your comment. I agree with your assessment that Steemit is by far the best cryptocurrency funnel. I explain in my recent post in a little more depth of why the rewards seem so extremely high on this platform for the time being and how that relates to mining other currencies. https://steemit.com/steem/@brianphobos/the-top-reasons-steemit-will-bypass-the-moon-and-will-beat-nasa-and-spacex-to-mars-not-click-bait

So the social media aspect is just a marketing tool?

No, I think the evidence is all around us that it's much, much more than that. That's what's so great about Steem. It has so many different angles of value. I truly enjoy the conversations I've hard here way more than any other social media platform so far. There's real value here! I can say that confidently, especially because the $ have been hidden from me for the last 19+ hours. I'm interacting with this site for the conversations right now and they are fantastic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68845.40
ETH 3281.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65