You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let's use STEEM and consume it, in our new Steemit SHOP!

in #steem8 years ago

Interesting idea. Reminds me of @modprobe's example of salt being taken out of the currency role and into the food role in his latest video. I like it in theory, but I also think it creates awkward incentives. It's hard for me to consider this without the "this should be free" dialogue.

Sort:  

Submitting a story is already free. The ability to earn massive amounts of steem is already free.

We don't need more free.

Granted, the prices need adjustment. But they could go up/down in relation to the past 7 days of average cost of steem.

Example: 25000 users choosing a founder icon for 50 STEEM is 1.25 MILLION STEEM taken out of circulation and burned. How is this not a good idea for those that want to partake?

Because they will compare it to other sites and feel this one is a money-grabbing scam. "I have to pay for what? That's a ridiculous attempt to create demand for their fake internet money. Screw that."

Everyone is so scared of the "they" trolls. They're a minority. It's the majority of users who do not have that pessimistic view. We to be focused.

Those that have decided to not join the party are already screaming scam. It has a null effect on the popularity of steemit thus far. Let's not cater our development into worrying what trolls think.

I'm talking about my friends who have been watching and are trying to decide what this thing is all about. They don't know anything about cryptocurrencies and very little about economics. If I recommended a site to them where they have to pay to make changes to their profile (such as an avatar), that would (rightfully, IMO) flip out.

I'm not trying to knock your idea, and I did give you my upvote for an interesting discussion. I just think there are other mechanisms in place which have to also be considered. I'm all about a marketplace for STEEM and SBD. I just want it to be truly valuable transactions, not for stuff which is free elsewhere.

Keep coming up with the creative ideas and putting them out there. That's what this place is great for, even if not everyone agrees with you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58119.97
ETH 3054.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26