You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SoundCloud on the Steemit Blockchain? - Part 2

in #steem7 years ago

It's not that I think it would unjustly drain the reward pool. A rising tide raises all boats, after all. It's that Muse may need to employ an entirely different sort of economic system / rewards structure to function as intended, one that Steem might just not be able to accommodate without drastic changes.

I don't know how it's going to look exactly but let's say hypothetically that Muse will reward artists for each second that their music is streamed. In that case every second you listen to a track is treated like a kind of vote for that content. That is just an entirely different way of going about allocating rewards for content. And will rewards be distributed relative to stake? Or will 'each second listened' be treated equally regardless of who is listening, whether whale or minnow? I don't know how they're going to do it but I suspect it could require an entirely different sort of economic engine to achieve the desired result.

I'm just speculating, it will be really interesting to see what sort of system they employ.

Thanks for the heads up on the peerplays / peertracks mix up! Maybe that's a signal that one or both need to rebrand ;)

Sort:  

Oh I see what you mean! Yes that's a great point.

I assume they will have some kind of pay-per-second or per track feature, but I have no idea how they will work it. I guess each one of the 3 I've come across so far could also have their own methods too?

One might be upvote based, another might be per second, and another could be per track.

Maybe there are other potential ways too?

Will be interesting to see what happens! Looking forward to the time when at least one of them is ready to go. I'm on all their email lists, so should be notified when they are.

Impressive work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61702.75
ETH 2485.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65