SoundCloud on the Steemit Blockchain? - Part 2

in #steem7 years ago

After posting the other day about the idea of having a SoundCloud-like app on the Steemit blockchain, someone suggested that I look into Muse who are working on Peer Tracks.

Muse - Music World 22-08-2017 16-53-09.png

I then also stumbled on Music Coin and Ujo:

Music Coin:

Musicoin- A blockchain for music- powered by -MUSIC 22-08-2017 17-00-11.png

Ujo

UJO 22-08-2017 17-00-05.png

All 3 of these platforms look awesome, but! Aside from them all currently being in development I have one issue with all 3:

None of them are Steem based!

I love the idea of DTube over Viewly, LBRY, SingularDTV or any others, simply because it is steem based and can be easily linked with here.

I don't know about you, but I find it tiresome needing to have accounts all over the place; one for the video platform, one for this social media, one for that social media, etc. etc. wouldn't it be nice to have a place for blogging (steemit), a place for Video (D Tube) and a place for audio (I suggested "BlockCast"), that is all linked together?

Muse is Graphene based, so it should be easy enough to use for those of us who are used to Steemit, but the other 2 are their own systems entirely.

A shot of my Muse wallet (yes it's empty):

MUSE 22-08-2017 17-00-20.png

They're also all geared towards music (obviously), but could this mean podcasts may not work on these platforms?.

I have no idea.

The other concern I have is that if any of the above 3 will be embeddable. If they are? That could make them more appealing for podcasting I guess!

What do you think?

Do we need a music/audio extension for the Steemit blockchain? Or will one of the above 3 be good enough for you?

Let me know below!

P.S. If I knew how to get this going myself I would, but I'm still a newbie to blockchain technology, although trying my damndest to learn everything I can about it!
Sort:  

If I'm not mistaken, MUSE is essentially a STEEM clone that will be tweaked to reward artists for the music that they upload as it is streamed by users.

Steem already has so many use cases that can be built on it, but I don't know that adding music streaming on top of everything else is necessarily the best idea. Could Steem also handle music streaming without fundamental changes to the underlying economics of the reward pool? I don't think so. Certainly not without a massive overhaul.

Music streaming, artist compensation and the economics behind that may be best served by a dedicated blockchain such as MUSE, and since it's powered by the same blockchain tech that Steem runs, it's got the chops to pull it off.

Peertracks [edit, thanks] will basically be the Steemit of the Muse blockchain, in that there could be multiple front-ends built on top of it, a la busy.org, chainbb, etc.

So, Muse is good enough for me! :) And after waiting for a few years, I'm ready!!

Thank you very much for your response @lovejoy!

You make some great points there, especially the part about it being a potential burden on the reward pool. I hadn't thought of that!

If one of these music apps is embeddable that could also be a nice thing to be able to bring music onto the steemit platform without it interacting with the steem reward pool directly.

Perhaps an embedded podcast could be accompanied with a transcript or blog post relating to it. What do you think about that idea?

P.S. I think you confused Peer Plays with Peer Tracks at the end there? :-)

It's not that I think it would unjustly drain the reward pool. A rising tide raises all boats, after all. It's that Muse may need to employ an entirely different sort of economic system / rewards structure to function as intended, one that Steem might just not be able to accommodate without drastic changes.

I don't know how it's going to look exactly but let's say hypothetically that Muse will reward artists for each second that their music is streamed. In that case every second you listen to a track is treated like a kind of vote for that content. That is just an entirely different way of going about allocating rewards for content. And will rewards be distributed relative to stake? Or will 'each second listened' be treated equally regardless of who is listening, whether whale or minnow? I don't know how they're going to do it but I suspect it could require an entirely different sort of economic engine to achieve the desired result.

I'm just speculating, it will be really interesting to see what sort of system they employ.

Thanks for the heads up on the peerplays / peertracks mix up! Maybe that's a signal that one or both need to rebrand ;)

Oh I see what you mean! Yes that's a great point.

I assume they will have some kind of pay-per-second or per track feature, but I have no idea how they will work it. I guess each one of the 3 I've come across so far could also have their own methods too?

One might be upvote based, another might be per second, and another could be per track.

Maybe there are other potential ways too?

Will be interesting to see what happens! Looking forward to the time when at least one of them is ready to go. I'm on all their email lists, so should be notified when they are.

Impressive work.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by TranshumanTees from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 1.04 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61796.23
ETH 2480.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64