You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STEEM Thoughts: The Power of a Vote!

in #steem6 years ago

One thing that nobody notices and I don't know why but I feel like you will definitely notice it, is that not everyone can produce good content.

But almost everyone on this platform can read and write.

So why does everyone put so much effort in creating their own content but nobody makes half the effort to read other people content and make some good comments on the post they like.

That's why I value good comments the most on this platform.

It means they have read the post and shared their opinion on it.

That's why I try to spend most of my upvotes on upvoting the comments than upvoting posts.

I believe that you can share this issue more clearly if you make a post about it, than I can share it in my comment.

But only if you feel it worthy of sharing.

Sort:  

Some of us are great topic starters, while others are great commenters. Both need each other. The creaters offer the commenters the platform.
Why I do find pity is that most of us do read a post, place a genuine comment but forget to read the other comments. It is just ignoring an opportunity to interact, to meet new Steemians.
I did earn more with genuine comments than with writing posts! For sure it is the step up that new Steemians need to use!

I agree with both of you, the lack of interaction and comments is one of the main issues of Steemit, as far as I'm concerned. I've been on this platform on-and-off for a while and I haven't started producing content yet, but I enjoy commenting very much. Unfortunately not every creator is able or willing to sift through comments and have a spontaneous discussion.

If the author is not willing to interact with his user base, he is just not worth our attention. I do know Steemians, who does get 30 or more replies on his post and he does react on all of the genuine comments! That's the way to do it. @taskmaster4450, yep I am referring to you. He is my role model on this part of the game! We don't always agree but at least he does his utmost best to be genuine and interactive!

Indeed!
That's why I always answer 100% of my comments... The truth is interaction is key on here, this is a small tribe when you consider other content platforms, and people above 60 in rep mostly know everyone else above 60 as well.

So friendships, communities and interaction play a larger role here, on this "small village"

I know only a few above 60 :)
There is no problem with having friendship circles, as long as we try to keep expanding them!

It was the step that old steemians always used to use.

Hi Looftee

I think that's the problem with Steemit. Its inhabitants are predominantly content creators. We need the readers to come -- those people that just surf the web to read interesting articles.

How do we make this happen?

  • The application process to join has to be easy and quick
  • We need to populate Trending and Hot with quality posts
  • We need to discourage shitposts (by not voting for them)

I agree about not voting on the shitposts @spiritualmax. Thanks for the article.

cheers

SIGNATURE.png

I agree that quality posts should gain more traction, but I don't think that they will ever get much.

Aw

Maybe -- glorious utopian dream -- one day this place will be visited by lots of readers with voting power. I hope. Until we get a good balance of readers/creators, it'll be chaotic and unstable.

well, like Peter Baelish said in GOT, chaos is the ladder to success.

LOL

I only watched a bit of the first episode of GOT. Nobody gave me the heads-up about the sex scenes. I sat down to watch with my kid thinking it would be like Lord of the Rings (or something). Then the dwarf character arrived on screen. Oops. :P

SIGNATURE.png

Well, on the bright side, now you will read everything about the movie/series before watching it with your family.

Everything makes you better!

Hahaha, yes that was a fast lesson for me :P

SIGNATURE.png

Well, to me it's all about marketing and the reason people join this platform.

Everyone joins this platform to make money, not to read quality content.

That's why we have an audience of writers, not readers.... most of us joined because of the rewards, and so we're more interested in writing and building audiences and communities than consuming.

We need to attract consumers, and for that we need to keep on getting on those search results. On the other hand, even those who come to consume are always facing those dollar signs at the bottom and soon turn to writing as well, trying to rake in the tokens.

Yepp, that's the real reason.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64450.12
ETH 3153.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52