Rewards bouncing back?

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2019-01-18 at 16.53.14.png

Something important happened a couple of hours ago. The median feed price quoted by witnesses (largely driven by the market price) went back over 35c and the artificial median of the medians which has held for a while now.

I'm not as clear on the relationship between rewards, feed prices and the SBD print rate as I was before HF20. But I understand that for the past few weeks the blockchain has been "acting as if" the price of STEEM was just below 35c even though the market price was much lower. This is why you'll have seen the USD value of your post not showing up in the amount of STEEM & SBD that you get During the period when STEEM has been around 25c I've been lucky enough to have my posts showing about $10 rewards, but I get 11 STEEM ( $2.75) and 11 SP($2.75 if I powered it down over 13 weeks!)

If the feed price stays where it is for a while (at least a couple of days), then at least those posts would be worth $3.85 for STEEM & SP respectively.

If it goes consistently higher then we'll start to see a shift in how much STEEM we're getting but also the SBD print rate could go up and a larger proportion of rewards will come that way.

Like I say, the HF20 changes have knocked my understanding of exactly how it works a bit sideways. If anyone has found a good, clear, simple explanation of the "new" rules and how they'll affect rewards now that STEEM is bouncing back, please do point to them in the comments.

Of course it could be just a temporary pump and it will pull back again after a day or so, but fingers crossed we're out of the worst.

Keep an eye on this chart at the awesome @penguinpablo 's steemnow

Sort:  

Should I switch my rewards back to 50/50 then do you know @lloyddavis?

I changed to 100% power up when that was recommended.

Not that it will make much difference since I haven't posted for a week. 😂

I'm never sure about that, I'm afraid. I always keep it 50-50 but that's because I like to have some liquid STEEM to play with rather than it being the most astute financial strategy :)

@dragosroua is normally the oracle on this one

Should I switch my rewards back to 50/50 then do you know @lloyddavis?

I changed to 100% power up when that was recommended.

Not that it will make much difference since I haven't posted for a week. 😂

if we could hold past $0.37 there would be a lot of easy upside, it would seem

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65353.52
ETH 2654.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84