You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hardfork 19 Official Release Now Public! I'll Be Switching My Servers to STEEM v0.19.0 Over The Next Few Days! Excited for This Update!

in #steem7 years ago

"Each vote's impact has been increased by 4x." Does that mean we get more curation rewards or do the post get more $ when someone upvotes?

Sort:  

That means you can vote 4 times harder than you do now I believe!

So yeah, when someone votes you now is only 1/4 of what their vote will be after HF19. :D

Ah nice :) But where does the bonus steem come from? Is the intresst on SP lower after HF19, or will the voting power go down x4 faster too? hmm

It would most likely go down 4x faster. So we would get only 10 of those 100% votes a day . Each 100% vote will be 2% of your power. Right now each is only 0.5 %

Ok nice! Good for people who can't vote 40 times a day :) And the full time users simply have to manage their upvote % a bit more..

good point. I just worry the whales, certain ones at least, will just use that to upvote them selves more and worry about comments and minnows less.

Yea that could be a thing. However, other whales could just support good posts even more...

I hope the fork won't split "poor and rich" even more, so that trending posts get full upvotes and smaller ones from new users are left behind...

thats exactly what i worry about. That would hurt the growth aspect of steemit. Based on some comments by whales and dolphins i see this happening. The rich get richer as they say.

Time will tell ^^

Others have raised this concern as well

I've read about others writing the same thing. I'm wondering if something is stopping us from making it impossible to vote on yourself, stopping the possibility to earn by voting on yourself.

Maybe even make a self-vote go back to the rewards pool, instead of to the user again?

Exactly.

Imagine having a gate and before it was only 1/4 open when you hit the vote button. Now at 100% it's actually open 100%. There shouldn't be extra STEEM created per say as the reward curve has been modifed / flattened as far as I know.

I'm not much of a economist nor is the exact math known to me at this time of what's been tweaked but I don't believe a tweak bringing higher inflation would be offered or accepted by majority.

the amount of steem is just divided up per post by how much voting weight it has attached i believe. So this wont change anything but may divide up who gets more differently depending on how much power people put into the votes.

Makes as much if not more sense than my current understanding.

I don't believe we'll see an increase in inflation rates. In fact I believe we'll slowly see a decrease in inflation rates on the network.

if i understand correctly the inflation rate is not attached to the amount of votes but the current amount of steem. So say for exmample somehow only one post recieved all of the votes for that day.. they would get 100% of the inflation for that day. If you noticed weekday posts get a higher value.. i studied this and it makes sense. Less posts during the week means more value to each vote and post.

You are correct. There are a number of variables in play to determine vote worth but what we learned from the whale no vote experiment recently is that minnow votes are worth far more if the big guys don't divvy up huge chunks of the reward pool.

I'm interested to see what my votes are worth after HF19.. I might finally be able to tip people a coffee. :D

haha well i will look forward to that coffee then. My upvote might pay for the sugar cube though

wow such discussions yet no mention that a 100% vote will burn your voting power 4x more than what it does right now.

But we would get only 10 of those 100% votes a day correct? Each 100% vote will be 2% of your power.

I believe you are correct but don't quote me on that one.. Although something tells me that is how it will work.. Or something similar. :)

Will that really make a difference? Since all votes will be multiplied by 4 and the reward pool doesn't change won't it have pretty much the same exact effect?

Depends on how active the voting / split of the rewards is would be my guess.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59120.07
ETH 2921.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79