You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cryptocurrency Price Predictions for July 2017!

in #steem7 years ago

@jerrybanfield - It's worth noting that the DAO was not a hacking, as I understand the term. The smart contract executed as intended by the code. It was poor coding which allowed the issue, in other words, human error. Ethereum then forked by rolling back to fix human error (something secure cryptos should not do), and the unforked chain became Ethereum classic.

A similar situation would be if all Bitcoin miners had implemented some sort of code fork to roll back the hacking of Mt. Gox, or some other large event. However, even that would be less drastic than what Ethereum did, given it forked to fix human not technical error. As a result, Ethereum does not have an immutable blockchain and is fundamentally open to being reforked anytime the Ethereum foundation wants to. It's still pretty cool tech though.

Apologies for any inaccuracies in my description, as I am not an expert on smart contracts.

PS - I've been waiting for an opportunity to bring a possible conspiracy to everyone's attention.

This is the result of my Facebook search for "jerry banfield". Coincidence?

Jerry Banfield or Springer.png

We must demand transparency.

Sort:  

Interesting background on the possible hacking. I'm still very new to crypto and haven't dug this far into some of the issue cryptos have been having.

lol love the conspiracy... I think @jerrybanfield is much more interesting though

Mostly more than half your followers so grateful to have this opportunity, i mean the minnows .
you gave me the light in my self-doubting and pretty streetful period of my life , i've been following you for a while
and i even quit my job in the moving company and went all in here !
Appreciate it @jerrybanfield
Would definetely pay it foraward here .

Cool that you left your job. Try to make some extra money and invest more !!

Good comment about Ethereum being mutable. Anything that can be, WILL be when the situation arises where the "need" is identified.

I just heard a blurp on the Lame Stream about Ethereum & how good it was..LOL
If the Lame Stream News is pushing it, it raises a red flag to me..
I read about the fork a few moons back, & it sounded scary to me..It went against all the reasons what blockchain currency was all about..
O yea, & about all this hacking that has just been making the rounds of late..I believe it's gonna get a bit more nastier down the road, cause the banks aren't sitting around twittering their thumbs..
FYI; The NSA has been developing some very nasty malware, & don't think it's gonna sit on a shelf & collect dust..LOL

Don't forget, even a broken clock is right twice a day.

Yes indeed, I'm sure that Jerry's price predictions are much more precise than mine would be any day of the week..I'm not doubting Jerry's skills at all, I'm just adding some insight of my own is all..
I am about to enter the world of cryptocurrency & l am doing lots of research..To put things plain & simple..I don't trust the banks, & don't forget that they control parts of the government..This is exactly why the crypto world got a little unnerved when the government stepped in to regulate any businesses that deal in crypto buying & trading..
PS: If Jerry is correct on some of his predictions here, I would say a wait & see strategy makes sense for now.. Thanks for the response Lex..
This just in; https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@floridanow/ethereum-flash-crashed-today-went-down-by-96-now-back-up-over-usd320-goldman-sachs-where-are-you-2017621t174513674z
Like I said in my previous comment, if I hear it on the Lame Stream it raises a red flag to me..

ZEC and ETC are going to the moon when Ethereum’s Metropolis Hard Fork it's done. Same algorithm, same miner.

when is this hard fork supposed to happen?

Air Asian nation to accept bitcoin as payment for flight tickets
https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@yinka/asian-nation-to-accept-bitcoin-as-payment-for-flight-tickets

Very good post, i love when you said in a yt video, Jerry none of these posts are short-_-

I don't think you realize what you mean to me
Not the slightest clue
'Cause me and you were like a crew
I was like your sidekick

Love, from sweden

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56248.57
ETH 2324.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34