Analysis of HF 19 Rewards Change

in #steem7 years ago

Fun with Charts

I charted Net rshares (the Rewards Shares resulting from votes) against total post rewards from both before and after HF 19.

The extreme values of rShares really blows the X-axis out of proportion so I have taken a snip of the excel table and included it below.

Analysis

I took 4 posts from 4 different authors and 1 post from each author pre and post HF19. The chart clearly shows that HF19 has resulted in a linear rewards curve. The more interesting part is the more powerful votes with respect to rshares. Below are two votes for my own posts, one from pre-HF19 and one post:

Pre-HF19

Post-HF19

To be fair, my Steem Power has increased by 0.7% over that time period, but that is a 2.47 times increase in voting power. So now I understand why @Kingscrown's latest post has significantly more rShares as many users have probably not adjusted their voting power to the changes (damn autovotes :-p). I would also note that on an exponential curve his post would have received a far greater reward.

@klye has indicated that the change in rewards is also due to a change to the rewards pool.

From Steemd.com, I see that the rewards pool currently sits at: 1,637,957.384 STEEM. I will now keep an eye on that value in my daily investor reports to see if it is increasing or decreasing over time. It appears that the rewards pool is a new metric to watch to gauge you post rewards.

Posts used for data:

https://steemd.com/art/@iamwne/the-essence-of-lori-portrait-sketch
https://steemd.com/funny/@lordvader/i-have-a-very-important-mission-for-all-of-you
https://steemd.com/funny/@lordvader/perhaps-you-thought-i-was-angry-about-father-s-day-well-you-haven-t-seen-anything-yet
https://steemd.com/trading/@leongkhan/steem-investor-report-13-june-2017-new-accounts-to-drive-price
https://steemd.com/steem/@leongkhan/is-hf-19-broken-rewards-seem-high-for-everyone
https://steemd.com/bitcoin/@kingscrown/usa-wants-travelers-to-declare-bitcoin-at-the-border

Sort:  

Thanks for the info. I was wondering why the amount increase so much.

Yeah, I was very confused earlier today until I started digging into it.

Good news it seems then, thanks for digging. I read in previous hard forks that the reward pool was emptied, and this time it seems it's been emptied into everyone's pockets, sweet!

Ha, that's a good way to look at it. In the previous HF the rewards pool was expanded and it took a while to fill. It would appear that it never stopped growing and now we are correcting, I'm trying to get an explanation from @klye

Can you tell him I'm ready to crash test tippy again if he's ready 😂

It appears that the payout spike was due to the massive spike in voting power and should normalize over the next 30 days.

Ahh, that has been touted in blogs I've read today yes. I guess when the 100% votes of the past 7 days have been paid out?

I am not the expert monkey to ask for the hardfork curve and voting changes as my understanding is a bit weak compared to some of the more economic minded witnesses!

I'll turn tippy on here shortly for you to mess with. :)

Who needs economics when you got tippy!

Yes, the floodgates really have been opened now. I still think this is insane and im not sure, if they are going to have to revoke that change in the future or not :-)

These are very good nees for us. Let's make some money!

Does this mean that Steemit wasn't using all of the reward pool?

I'm still unclear on the mechanics. My question is what is the 'ideal' rewards pool level.

As much as it can be would be ok for me.

More like more of the reward pool flows down now.

pre my vote wasn't worth anything. Today I woke up and it was worth for like $2. Amazing

Just a small taste of Whale power! Enjoy it while it lasts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56422.84
ETH 2981.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.19