The Rewards Calculation Curve was not the only thing prejudicial against small and new accounts on SteemsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

As


I was reading this post: https://steemit.com/steemit/@shayne/attention-steemit-minnows-you-have-been-given-a-opportunity-and-trusted-with-great-power-start-using-it-or-you-will-lose-it it dawned on me, when someone pointed out differences between the steemit.com interface for small/new accounts and the rest of us.

I even narrowly avoided falling under 1000SP recently, and didn't get to see one of the important changes, see number 3:

  1. The interface has self voting by default

  2. The ability to vote on one's comments, even though this is meaningless

  3. Minnows don't have a vote slider, until, I think, 1000SP - thus they cannot distribute their votes more evenly

Point three, completely slipped my mind. I remember when it was implemented, and it did not show up on my account until a while after because I was a minnow at the time.

A quick search on 'vote slider' brings this up as top link:

https://steemit.com/steem-help/@sykochica/what-s-this-slider-bar-and-vote-power-percentage-what-s-the-difference

Once a user reaches 1 MilliVest (which right now equates to 482.398 Steem Power), they will gain access to the vote slider bar. This lets you determine how much of a vote you want to give a person. Since we have a limited number of full (100%) votes a days without it effecting our voting power, sometimes we want to give a partial votes to more people.

Note that this post is pre-HF19. @sycochica used an incorrect unit, by the way, Milli is a fraction, Mega is 1000x

I have posted an issue on the github for the steemit interface (condenser) https://github.com/steemit/condenser/issues/1544

Sort:  

Funny thing about that slider...
Whenever I go to Facebook now, I find myself double-clicking "Like" instead of single-clicking. When I bring this up to minnows, I forget they don't have that slider and they go, "I don't know what you mean."

Also I think the figure that earns the slider is something close to 485 Steem Power, which is roughly 1 MVest.

I didn't know that minows can't use slider. Good point! Followed and upvoted!

There is something not quite right to me that I recently noticed...

I clicked on a post of a photo and the member is very new.

Only 21 followers and receiving a lot of upvotes.

The lowest earnings are $26 and the highest is $54 with only 24 followers.

So I tried posting a photo and choose the same categories and I am still getting very low amount of upvotes.

I also noticed the post don't have many views at all but many upvotes.

Profile:
https://steemit.com/@kris10

I'm happy for this member and they are doing great. It would just be nice to have equality here.

This is what I'm campaigning for. HF19 was only a half measure. This realisation adds a hell of a lot more weight to the argument that self-voting should be removed, because the 'mostly harmless' factor of self votes does not account for the rapid vote power decay and the fact that minnows can't choose to reduce their vote weight.

I'm a minnow (537SP) and I've got a slider...

See my amendment to the post at the bottom about how much SP is required to have it display.

Milli is a fraction, Mega is 1000x

Kilo is 1000x; Mega is 1000x1000x :P

ah, and milli is 1/1000th

Yep...

On a sidenote: delegated Steem Power doesn't count for the slider.
( Just something I found out recently )

WHAAAAAAAAAAATTTT!!!???

Another Condenser issue!

I didn't realize this is the case! Is it perhaps because when an account has such little power, a vote isn't worth enough to break it down? I mean, I remember in the beginning when my vote was worth just a penny! If I decided to vote at 10%... is that even quantifiable as a vote? If not, it might confuse people to see that their vote doesn't change the monetary amount on a post and they'd think there were glitches.

Maybe I'm wrong!

it used to be the case, but now even 100SP gives about 10 cents. New users are faced with the choice of earning immediately on self votes, or who knows when they might get upvotes...

I just voted you 9%. My vote power is at 40% and I have about 1100 SP. that's roughly 3.6% of the total reward-giving power of my SP

Ah, that makes sense. Well, IMO "who knows when" would be when they start engaging with people on the platform in place of spam commenting and self-upvoting. I won't even take a second look at someone who clearly hasn't read my post, copy/pastes their link in the comments, and upvotes it. No sirree! Lol

I am all over this subject this last 24 hours, and believe me, there is a groundswell rising.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63342.86
ETH 2731.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64