You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A New Steem Competitor Being Built on EOS

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

I've been under a rock reporting on SpaceX, so I missed ALL of this. Thank you for the primer! Can I ask one point of clarification? Is he creating a Steem alternative only, or also a Steemit alternative for sharing stories, commenting, upvoting, etc.?

Also, I definitely agree with what @kyusho said (With success comes drama.) I was a so-called "power user" back in Digg's heyday and oh my gosh the drama that I witnessed back then. Sadly, that and a too-great-love for corporations ended up being Digg's undoing. (Which sounds like MySpace too, come to think of it.)

That said, drama will happen as a site grows. They just need to be very careful about flagging-as-censorship, since so many people fled here to get away from censorship. I don't think they'll ever have that corporate kowtowing problem so many other sites have had, thankfully.

This is randomly making me think of some of the drama Reddit has had over the years. There was the big Ellen Pao fiasco in 2015, but more recently, Spez editing users' comments just for his own kicks. He later apologized for that, but it was a big eye-opener at the time.

Anyway, now I'm rambling. I'm glad you wrote this story, because I had no idea this was happening. I hope they can get all this figured out soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63453.92
ETH 3283.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89