You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ⏺Calling out everyone who ignores their audience!

in #steem7 years ago

I'm new to Steemit, but thought I'd share my thoughts in case it helps. :) I'm an online journalist and some of my stories get a lot of views but, to be honest, I'm not always great with responding to comments. When that happens, there are typically 2 reasons. Either: 1.) I'm super busy & something blew up & it's just impossible to keep up. Or 2.) Sometimes commenters are mean (especially when I report on politics, ha.) :) I know that an online publication compared to Steemit is a bit apples-to-oranges, but just thought I'd share my perspective in case it helps. Meanwhile, your post has influenced ME to pay more attention to comments that people leave, so thank you. :)

Sort:  

Hey @KittenLaw. Welcome to Steemit, by the way! How long have you been here?

Thanks for your insight. To be honest, I expected people on the other side of the story to attempt to justify themselves, which is only natural.

I believe if you want to make something work, you have to go all in. So, again, it's not that I really want to judge anyone not being able to respond.. But to be it is essential to build that relationship and to show that respect. No matter what it takes. Rather stay up an extra hour 1am-2am and do it, because that's doing whatever we can.

In terms of rude comments, yeah that's understandable. I think this would be particularly tougher on a lady, than on a guy. That's why I am also trying to promote a open-thought, happy environment here. I don't want any arguments.. But if I ever come across a negative comment, I will always try and respond positively first, then if they proceed to retaliate in negativity, I will simply stop.

Thanks for your comment! Let me know if my replies are too long. I am thinking they are.. But that's just my opinion. Do you think I should make them shorter?

I think your replies are just fine! :-) It's good for discussion! And thanks for the welcome. In my short time here at Steemit, it really does seem like everyone's so much nicer. This site really is great about promoting free discussion and debate.

You're absolutely right -- taking the extra time to respond and build relationships is essential. It's easy to forget, though, and I'm glad your article reminded me about that!

I checked out your profile. I see you don't post.. Why is that? You could do awesomely here!

No particular reason, I just haven't jumped in yet with posts. But thank you for the encouragement! I'll definitely start posting on here soon. :-)

That sounds good :) I will support you because you are following my content. You are apart of my success team, so let's do this.

Talk soon.

That's awesome to hear :) I definitely agree with that. Steemit really has a great vibe to it. It's amazing.

I have started comment giveaways on my blog posts now. I will send multiple $ boosts to great comments/engagements/acts of kindness on my content.

Talk soon.

Does gratuitous violence get construed as engagements on your posts? {grin}

What thesaurus do you use?? That vocab though lol.

Thesaurus? Thats for wimps... synonyms the like...

Too cool for school :D Get it.. Because we're discussing learning new words xD (Then he realizes his joke was lame..)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60380.95
ETH 2623.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55