"River" by Joni Mitchell (cover)

in #steem2 years ago

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


One of my favourite Joni songs. Christmas-ish. Mostly Canadian melancholic.

An old open mic entry from when it was still over at Steemit (as you'll hear).

I just announced that I am heading into the studio out here in LA to produce a Joni album featuring a couple of covers as well as originals of mine about our common home in Saskatchewan, Canada.

I'm going to be writing a book about some of it as well and releasing it as a package some time in the new year.

Not sure if this song will make the album cut but wanted to share it here with the Hive world.

Lyrics below of a great song.

Kay

"River"

It's coming on Christmas
They're cutting down trees
They're putting up reindeer
And singing songs of joy and peace
Oh I wish I had a river I could skate away on

But it don't snow here
It stays pretty green
I'm going to make a lot of money
Then I'm going to quit this crazy scene
I wish I had a river I could skate away on

I wish I had a river so long
I would teach my feet to fly
Whoa I wish I had a river I could skate away on
I made my baby cry

He tried hard to help me
You know, he put me at ease
And he loved me so naughty
Made me weak in the knees
Oh, I wish I had a river I could skate away on

I'm so hard to handle
I'm selfish and I'm sad
Now I've gone and lost the best baby
That I ever had
Oh I wish I had a river I could skate away on

I wish I had a river so long
I would teach my feet to fly
Oh I wish I had a river
I could skate away on
I made my baby say goodbye

It's coming on Christmas
They're cutting down trees
They're putting up reindeer
Singing songs of joy and peace
I wish I had a river I could skate away on


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Definitely melancholic..but nicely performed.
Apparently I must not be following you on hive, but I guess I still am on steem. :-)
You should cross-post this in the #musicforsteem community if you can. There's several of us over there posting occasionally

I was wrong, I wasn't following you, it was shared by someone that I follow. I fixed that, now I'm following you.

I try to drop by here at least somewhat regular for the ones still hanging out over here!

And haha yes - very melancholic. My style and a lot of hers :)

Thanks - I tagged that in the new post. Not sure how the communities work over here much anymore.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84