Steem was at 35 cents one year ago today๐Ÿ€๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š

in #steem โ€ข 6 years ago

FF428C14-80CA-4C45-9D4C-11BA7FD86CE6.jpeg

And that was fucking exciting!

Now we stand at around $3.50 ~ $4.00 as the norm. Pretty crazy what a year can do, hey?


Iโ€™d just like to take a moment here to voice my appreciation for the hardcore bloggers here on Steemit that are here for the revolutionary capacity of the platform.

I remember being mocked in the comments of the above FB post because 35 cents seemed pretty small to someone. The thing is, itโ€™s all about patience and positioning. Those โ€œhardcoreโ€ folks here know that, and also truly appreciate the community and the revolutionary capacity and potential they see in the platform thanks to the incentivization of quality content creation.

To those fairweather bloggersโ€”including a prominent aspiring politico who at one time left the platform after being โ€œpissedโ€ that his intro post โ€œonly madeโ€ $1,000โ€”who complain, mock, and make excuses, you ainโ€™t got nothinโ€™ on the OGs! Blessings and respect all the same, as weโ€™re all human, but...come off it!

Anyway, pretty neat stuff. Wonder what this post will look like next year?

~*~

~KafkA

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as DLive and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort: ย 

Iโ€™m beyond blessed to see myself making a better future for my son and myself . Steem has changed my life and helped not only me but 100s of others all around the world . Lucky people we could say we are to have started at the right time

including a prominent aspiring politico who at one time left the platform after being โ€œpissedโ€ that his intro post โ€œonly madeโ€ $1,000โ€”who complain, mock, and make excuses, you ainโ€™t got nothinโ€™ on the OGs!

Hehe, is it weird I think I know who exactly you're talking about? You're right now that you brought it up I really can't find any of their posts...

It's mind boggling how steem has made so many millionaires already, sure these people are either early investors or people who were literally there before anyone else mining away the early day steem. But a closer look will also reveal the many people who blogged their way into potential fortune.

Being here on the steem platforms I realised that when one doesn't pay too much mind to how much one is making and really treat this place as a social media, engaging and creating content, they are the ones that make it on here. Rather than those that post and expect to make it big then complain "why didn't anyone upvote me my content is good".

I've come to accept that we don't need the whole world to adopt steem, we just need the best of them.

Man I wish I would never have lost my 1st password. Originally joined in August 2016(I think) and that was long before your reference! I don't think it would be healthy for me to think about that too much...
So glad I applied for a 2nd profile and you're are damn right about having to keep a level of integrity in your work. Steemit could be great but we do have to keep up the initiative. So good to be part of all this and I find it madness when folk don't come onboard. They do the same on FB as they could do here, yet cut out all the crap. There is always the worry of asking for too much and maybe not chasing the carrot would be good for steemit, but I doubt it. We get closer and close all the time to compeating with the big-dogs(Twitter/FB/Insta) and once we are in their radar, we will probably be brought out and placed into the mainstream regurgitation machine. Its a tough cookie to bake!

There are lots of people out there who simply can't accept the reality of what the steem blockchain can do. I have experience sharing to people around me about it (they are bloggers themselves, the adsense/seo/cpm type) and they literally pretend to not hear what I just told them.

But sooner or later steem and it's dapps will be brought to the limelight though, Dtube has already been making rounds in some mainstream news as the YouTube Alternative.

Wow that is good news for Dtube. I heard that they may have sorted out the archiving issue too. Would be great to have the service running as good as it should do. Yes It is quite amazing how folk can just tune out to anything related to crypto or decentralisation. Haha I've told a few people that I will give them all a wave from my yacht if steemit goes big :)

hahahah... We're all dreaming Big!!

WOW! I didn't know that it was only .35 a year ago! I came in August 2016, and I made like $98 on a post. I put that in bitcoin cause I was brand new to crypto, and that's just what I thought you did. And that's how I got my start in crypto. I was gone from Steemit for the most part up until December, and now I am so dedicated. I find Steemit so rewarding and so rich. Thanks for sharing this cool little bit.

Thanks for reminding us how far we have come! Onward and upward. upped and resteemed!

Are you serious? Some guy was pissed that he made $1K on a post? What a jack-donkey. I'd love to be able to make $1K on a post. The most I made was a couple hundred and I was thrilled to bits. I'm thrilled when I made more than $1. Some people are so entitled.

About Steem, it's average price is now higher than SBD, how about that ;) It's awesome.

yeah its just trimendous steem growimg ..
hope sbd get another crazy jump as precious one above 15$
Cheers!

What a post to show where we are headed and where we have come from...i joined in June of 2017 but became active in July and Steem was around 0.8-1$ ..i had a longterm perception though and stuck around.

Persistence and long term vision is key here on Steemit.I alwalys tell folks here in Uganda to look at Steemit 4 to 5 years from now.

I am now doing my best to mentor my friend not to look at the 4$ nw but the 80$ a year from now(i wish it would shoot to that and it will!).

Persistence and long term vision is key here on Steemit.

This is it.

Yeah thatz totally anazing!

What a great reminder. I think we tend to get irrational about crypto currency prices and expect everything to be rocketing up day in day out (and quickly lose faith if not). Your post just goes to show that slow and steady wins the race.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58399.10
ETH 2475.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38