An Observation Regarding Follower Count (Have You Noticed This?)

in #steem6 years ago

So, for a few days now, my follower count has been slowly declining. I snooped around a little bit online, and found a site that you can use to check your recent follows, unfollows and mutes (check it out here if you’re courageous). It’s pretty rad, and it showed me something interesting.

A5577CFB-D4EF-468B-B661-421AC93330D1.jpeg

B45EF2AE-E73B-49C7-87B9-421C1EB5D2A7.jpeg

Over the last two days I’ve had 5 people unfollow me, none of which I know personally. Seemed kinda weird, so I did some looking into it. These are the 5 accounts:

17B2CCC3-2842-40E4-B2CE-BB7760427C65.jpeg

D9D3DDE3-F3C1-4877-863C-8EA77E41CD77.jpeg

B80A305F-8AD3-484C-9B63-4BB7A0A18859.jpeg

DFADDC52-8997-476E-ACBC-1B97156595B3.jpeg

F768DA54-BB46-404B-BFF5-76A6DAA36234.jpeg

You’ll notice that only one of these accounts, @phi23, seems to be a real person following a reasonable amount of people. The rest of them have below 30 reputation and follow over 100,000 people. So what I learned today is that I don’t have to feel bad about having followers drop like flies, because they’re prank accounts with no chance of interaction or humanity behind them. I wanted to make this post so that anyone wondering what the fuck is going on can know that they’re probably just shaking off dead weight, not losing their real followers.

On another note however, I’ve also noticed that my account has unfollowed certain users all on its own without my permission, people I would never unfollow like @whatsup, @whatamidoing, @paintingangels, and more! It’s pretty frustrating to think that my account can just take any author out of my feed at random, without me knowing. Has anybody else noticed this?

Regardless of your follower count, Steem On friends :)

B434FA86-5299-4A2E-9BA0-528640D351FB.png

Sort:  

That's good if such a site is available to keep track of followers ..great post ,keep it up ,God bless you

Posted using Partiko Android

You’ll notice that only one of these accounts, @phi23, seems to be a real person following a reasonable amount of people.

Hey @k0wsk1, thanks for posting this link, I've just recently found SteemWorld after using Steemd for a while and yes, I am a real person :)

As I explained in my post https://steemit.com/community/@phi23/confessions-of-a-minnow-and-other-such-folly I've gotten a wee bit lost at times following certain advice, and one such piece of advice was to follow the followers of people with lots of followers in the hope that they would follow myself. But it didn't work for me and I regretted doing this because now I am still in the process of unfollowing many people.

All the best,

Phi23

Haha no harm done @phi23, I appreciate you stopping by to comment! Good luck navigating through the world of Steem, my suggestion would be to do the same as you’re currently doing, and be a real person :) All the best to you!

I lost a few recently too, but like yourself, nobody I actually know. I haven't had any unintentional unfollows of my own (yet), but I did see a post a little while ago about that problem. Apparently it's a known issue, and being worked on. I wish I would have saved the link so I could share it here.

@practicalthought helped me out with some links in his comment below, if you’re curious about this. Thanks for stopping by, good to know I’m not alone!

Cool, I'll check those out. Cheers!

Sometimes it doesn't register that I am logged on and it says I haven't followed someone when I have, then I refresh and it's fine.

glad you followed me again! :-D

I’ve noticed that too, sometimes it refreshes automatically and I’ll try to click the follow button right as it turns into the unfollow button x) Of course @whatamidoing, you were one of the first people I actually talked to here, I appreciate your work and your style on Steem and elsewhere

Thanks for this info @practicalthought, I appreciate you stopping by. It feels like I haven’t seen you awhile, good to see you still keepin’ on! Cheers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62648.12
ETH 2562.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74