is steem mining dead or am I doing it wrong?

in #steem7 years ago

So I was curious mining my own steem power and tried various guides on the internet all ending the same:

The recent guide i followed was this one here:
https://steemit.com/steem/@tuck-fheman/how-to-mine-steem-in-windows

I checked my config file not only twice but already ten times and there seems to be everything fine so far, as you can see on the screenshot something is happening (or at least it claims to be happening)

The thing is that the blockchain didn't download for hours now so I'm wondering if this whole thing already died or what else is causing this problem?

What I tried was:

  • deleting the donloaded blockchain and start from scrath
    result was the same, no download at all
  • download a blockchain which claimes to be from this year (according its size of +15GB it could be from 2017)
    result is the same, no download for hours

Anyone started recently mining steem and knows if it works or what can I do?

Thanks in advance.

Greetings
juicypop

Sort:  

I'm not sure that you can just start mining Steem any longer. We're working on delegated proof of stake and the witnesses create the currency.

You might find this article on whitnesses useful:
https://steemit.com/steemit-guides/@pfunk/a-full-steemit-user-s-guide-to-steem-witnesses

I think you have to be voted in to be able to perform the 'mining'

That might explain why you're having a tough time getting going!

Thanks for this information

Seems normal users or at least new ones have no more chance to participate in this

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77