Steem - Abra adds 60 new currencies, including STEEM and SBD!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem4 years ago

Steem quietly got a new listing today

Abra announced today that they would be adding support for 60 new cryptocurrencies to their wallet app for US based users.

It wasn't initially clear which coins they added, so I did some digging.

Scrolling through their home page, I was pleasantly surprised to see this at the bottom...

(Source: https://www.abra.com/cryptocurrency/investing-guide/)

We have a STEEM and SBD sighting!

The purple color indicates it was a new listing as of today.

They now support 90 cryptocurrencies for US based users and 200 cryptocurrencies for International users.

A little about Abra...

I didn't know much about Abra before today, but from the looks of things they are more of a wallet than an exchange, though it does appear they have exchange capabilities as well.

From what I could glean from their website and wiki...

It appears that Abra is a financial services and technology company that operates an all-in-one cryptocurrency wallet and exchange app.

The Abra app is available on both iOS and Android platforms and allows users to buy, sell, and hold 90 different cryptocurrencies and multiple fiat currencies in one place.

It was created several years ago (2014) in Silicon Valley by Bill Barhydt, a former engineer at Goldman Sachs.

It says the app is available in over 150 countries globally and as part of the announcement today, it looks like they have also doubled daily deposit/withdrawal limits.

More about it can be seen here:

https://www.abra.com/blog/meet-the-new-abra/

It's not Coinbase, but we'll take it!

Steem FTW.

This wasn't as big as getting steem listed on say Coinbase or Bitfinex, but hey, it's solid news never the less and it was nice to see steem included with the 60 other coins they decided to add.

Now, we just gotta give ol' Brian Armstrong a call and ask him what the deal is about getting STEEM listed on Coinbase.

And now we can point to another San Francisco based wallet/exchange (Abra) as a reference of ours. :)

Stay informed my friends.

-Doc

Sort:  

Hey, just a suggestion, you should write an article about all of the places that US based people can still trade STEEM. I would write it but I don't know... and no one follows me... hahahaha

Sure I could look into that. It's not a very long list these days.

I've used SimpleSwap a few times. Most prople probably don't know about it but it makes it easy to move from one crypto to another, without having to use an exchange https://simpleswap.io/

Does it include steem and sbd?

Well that's good to hear! Also never heard of it before, but hey, I guess it means some people out there will now be introduced to Steem.

I had heard of it. I will need to look into it a bit more to see exactly how popular it is. I reminds me a little of the Robinhood app. Need to get steem on there as well.

Congratulations @trendo.marketing, you successfuly trended the post shared by @jrcornel!
@jrcornel will receive 30.31543463 TRDO & @trendo.marketing will get 20.21028975 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

i didn't knew about that thanks for sharing this great info :D

I'll take any new listing we can get!

Kinda my thoughts as well. It nice to see a "listing" instead of a "delisting" these days!

They also allow for people to invest in some global stocks through the app, I wrote a review based on the app here

https://steemit.com/steemleo/@mistakili/abra-cadabra-welcome-to-the-future-of-money-money-3-0

Cool. I will give it a look. I plan on looking a bit more into Abra today. Probably give the app a download as well.

Will test this out .... I need a proper STEEM-fiat gate.

That is amazing. That means withdrawing in the Philippines without bitcoin

It certainly looks that way.

I do switch from coins.ph to Abra very soon. However, I e-mailed coins.ph to if possible to add STEEM along with their existing coins BTC, BCH, ETH and XRP.

Did they reply already?
I also made a few message to their customer support several months back, they acknowledged it but no plans according to them.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Keep on them. The more people keep requesting things the more likely they are to be added.

Cool development. Thanks for finding this.

You got it. It even appears there might be a fiat pair for steem if I am reading this right? I will download the app later today and see for myself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60896.14
ETH 2915.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55