You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: For Newbies: What is My Steemit Wallet Address and How Can I Make a Deposit? Visual Step by Step Help Guide 🐳 A 100% Steem Power Up Post

in #steem7 years ago

All due respect to SteamPowerWhale for putting this together! Awesome share (it helped me out)!

There is one thing I thought should be clarified though.

I'm not a master Steemer yet but... I work with private and public keys very often for my line of work.

Please don't use your private key for this. It's private, so it is best kept private. Public keys are used for encrypting information that is meant to go to the holder of the private key. The private key is used for decryption.

Decryption is how you (or the bad guys) unlock information that was meant only for you to see. Give someone else your private key and you have given them the ability to decrypt things that were encrypted with the public key.

Please use the public key for public things. From your Steemit account's perspective anywhere that isn't steemit.com is public. So please don't share your private keys with public sites like Poloniex.

Here is another article on this same topic (that tells you the correct key you're supposed to use):

https://steemit.com/steem/@cryptos/how-to-transfer-steem-from-poloniex-to-steemit-com

Here is another article on public and private keys (complete with great animations that illustrate what each kind of key does):

https://steemit.com/security/@noisy/public-and-private-keys-how-they-are-used-by-steem-making-all-of-these-possible-you-can-find-answer-here

Also, I just moved some of my STEEM from Poloniex to Steemit.com using the public memo key. I did not need to reveal any private keys to Poloniex for this transaction to complete. The transfer went through in under a minute.

Sort:  

Thanks for the info! Much appreciated!

Wow! Thanks! I was almost gonna use the show private key number.. Phew! Luckily i read Ur comment..

Thanks for this.
Trying it out.

Thank you! I lost money because I used the private memo key as suggested in the post... Kinda mad about that :( @steempowerwhale

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63099.80
ETH 2455.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58