Why I roast my own fresh coffee beans and why Steemers should too (DIY)

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

95% of the roasted coffee in the world is old, stale & dead. Coffee has a lifespan of about 7 days after it's roasted before it starts to die. It starts to lose it’s nutritional value, taste and vitality.

These bad boys took me about 20 minute to roast this afternoon

There are over 1500 different chemical reactions that happen when a coffee bean is roasted and we are only just starting to realise the great benefits of fresh roasted “living” coffee has to offer. Personally myself I could never go back to dead coffee again there is jut no comparison in flavour and quality.

How is good coffee going to help me blog?

The average successfully blogger will spend 3-5 hours creating a blog and 85% of them will have a coffee before they start. This is why you should read my blog, It’s also interesting to note that 37% of these people will use statistics and numbers to make their false claims appear more believable in the hope you will up-vote their blog.

Before I get into details I’d like to point out a few interesting facts about coffee.

  • Coffee is the world’s second most valuable traded commodity, second to oil
  • The world consumes close 2.25 billion cups everyday
  • Instant coffee was invented on Wall Street (big surprise)
  • The world most expensive coffee is made from the dung of elephants and cats
  • The word “coffee” comes from the Arabic for “wine of the bean”
  • It's been estimated it would take about 70-80 cups of coffee to kill a person

Why fresh roasted? Why should I care? What’s the difference?

The difference between “living” coffee and dead coffee is huge. Doesn’t matter if it's vacuum sealed, freeze dried or even nitrogen flushed if it's after 10 days it's past it’s expiry date.

Fresh roasted coffee has a superior taste, it’s the only true coffee flavour at its absolute best, its naturally sweet, lively and gives you a much better buzz without the agitation.

A coffee’s aroma is an important characteristic that adds to the fullness of entire experience. Pick up a handful of fresh roasted coffee and smell the difference, it will be like the difference of smelling bread in the supermarket and walking into a bakery.

The fresh roasted coffee is loaded with health benefits, more nutrients, antioxidants, awesome immune boosting properties and all that good stuff, just take my word for it, I’m a trustworthy guy.

Probably should note, you will not need to add a bag of onions or 500mg of Amoxycillin to your coffee blend, my girlfriend has wisdom tooth infection and I was just too lazy to retake the photo after I put everything away. If you have a problem with it, please refer to my last photo on this blog, I’m sure this will clear things up for you.

What we are really making is a “speciality” coffee a superior coffee to the world's 95%, it can not be matched by any large scale producer. Speciality coffee all over the world is beginning to trend with high demand.… just not as much as make-up blogs though.

What you need and how to get it

1) Green Coffee Beans: You can source your own or try.

*BeanGreen
This site allows you to pick green coffee beans from any region on the planet, you can pick the blend, fair trade, organic, eco-friendly, ethical and even the cupping score of the bean you are buying.

Most large scale producers exploit smaller coffee producing nations, so I find it’s good to have a choice.

2) Popcorn Popper

  • If you are a bit tight for cash you can just use a fry pan, it’s not as consistent but it does the job and will be still better than the coffee available at Starbucks. I brought popper on ebay for about $20-25 USD, had it for a few years now and still works.

3. Coffee Grinder & Plunger

  • Just clean out your weed chopper and presto! You have a new coffee grinder, plungers are pretty common and cheap so go find it yourself.

Making Coffee

Believe it or not this is pretty easy, it’s about as difficult as making popcorn. Instead of waiting for a pop, you just wait for a “crack” yep that’s right. Coffee beans crack twice. I like it somewhere between the first and second crack, some beans have suggested “cook times” but it’s all pretty much the same.. dark or light.

  • While roasting the beans they will “flake” the outer shell and fly up in the air, probably a good idea to do it outside if you can. Also when you finish roasting the beans you need to cool them with a fan afterwards for a minute or so otherwise they keep cooking on the inside.

  • Wait about 10-24 hours after you have roasted the beans before you grind them up, this ensures all the chemicals reactions have adequate time to rest.

There you go, you are speciality coffee master who can enjoy the finest freshest roasted coffee in the world!

Oh yeah and before I forget, if you have anything negative to say about my blog...

Goggle+ Verification: ServantOfNone

Sort:  

It’s also interesting to note that 37% of these people will use statistics and numbers to make their false claims appear more believable in the hope you will up-vote their blog.

You cheeky devil.

I gave up all caffeine for 2 years because it gives me anxiety I still have flashbacks of a good cup of coffee with some creme. ugggg I miss it so much. This article is torture.

Just made some cold brew in a 6 cup mason jar. This was the perfect follow up article. I'm going to purchase some green beans next time I get coffee and give roasting a shot!

An entire informative post on COFFEE! I may be in love but now I really crave a "live" cup of java. Man, oh man, I can nearly taste the nectar of the gods. Thanks a lot @jaycobbell ! I've only got instant at the moment. LOL/boo-hoo

Your most welcome, im preparing my harpoons and getting ready to do another blog

I love good coffee

Here's a guide to the steps to make the cold brew I mentioned. Long live #coffee streem! I want to roast some beans myself in the next batch.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70880.42
ETH 3658.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75