You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Has a Severe Glitch That Likens It To Reddit, Facebook and Fox News

in #steem8 years ago

If a "whale" has the power to downvote, and literally "steal" a person's steemit earnings, why isn't the whale arrested for theft? Why, did we agree to be stolen from as content creators on steemit in the beginning?

Sort:  

Jason do remember me Shelby? I see you had posted about Steem to your website in 2016. Remember the last time I spoke to you was in 2013 right before or after I wrote the essay Bitcoin : The Digital Kill Switch as I was getting into researching Bitcoin.

Remember when you made the point that we can’t “give away for free that which is not free”.

I wrote 3 days ago:

NEWS FLASH (for those who might not know this): nothing in life is free, not even Steem’s “free” transaction fees. Facebook is not free, you have given them control over your data and allowed them to subject you to advertising. When we try to “give away for free what is not free”1, then we create power vacuums with deleterious, top-down control outcomes.

[…]

1 I first read (c.f. also) this aphorism from Jason Hommel aka @jasonhommel.

So now dig into this rabbit hole a bit to see where it goes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67808.66
ETH 3248.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67