History May Repeat Itself, But WE Hold the Keys to Shape the Future ~ #thesunhasset

in #steem5 years ago

This suddenly feels all too familiar. Not in the same fashion, necessarily. But the outcome for sure. It feels a lot like 2008. I had 4 bumper stickers on my 91' Lexus SC300. For context, that's a 17 year old car at the time. "NoBama", "RonPaulRevolution", "Liberty", and another one I can't remember but it was anti-Obama for sure, lol. It was that year I felt back stabbed, betrayed, and physically & psychologically dismantled from what I thought was reality.

ronpaul2008b.jpg
source

What I came to find was people who felt the same way, at least a few of them, anyway. Some were happy with Obama. Some were pissed with him. My circle, left the system. Not to say we went away and hid in the dark. On the contrary, we became canaries in the coal mine. Much like what I have seen in the past 24 hours here on this block chain that I have come to love more than the sacred Daily Paul I would frequent every day and night to get my news.

This whole witness debacle has me reeling back to 2008 nightmares, regret, and the feeling of I can't believe this is happening!!!. Like my boy RP got totally screwed by the GOP.

There was a few year period where everything I posted was anti-everything status quo. I was angry, no doubt. But the more time that passed, the more people I saw who felt the way I did. Disenfranchised. But they seemed to handle it differently than I, and it led me to their way of thinking. Being angry doesn't help. Asking questions and initializing conversations with people who are willing to listen is the goal. Change minds and you can change the world without ever picking up a sword.

Now that my initial anger over this whole Tron thing has somewhat subsided, I am relieved and excited about how this community responded. We didn't lay over and take it. We banded together to protect something we have worked hard for over the past four years. I say this as a basic content creator and curator. I have added zero in terms of code, dapps, or different UI's...but if I feel the way I did, I can't imagine how the people who have poured their heart and soul into this chain must have felt. I understand the anger of some of the users who I listened to on the witness phone chat with Justin. I get it. But I have found that anger is weakness and a hindrance to success and achieving your ultimate goals.

So while I am not happy with how things have turned out recently, I have high hopes, after seeing the collaborative effort that all of us Steemians are willing to do. As of now, we hold the top 7 witness spots and the exchanges are in a world of hurt by doing what they did. I doubt they make the same mistake again and I envision all the OG witnesses back in place in due time.

The difference between the political sphere and the blockchain sphere???

Here we actually hold the power. Voting actually matters. I have seen it and we have proved it. Steem long and prosper friends.

Sort:  

The community reaction has been loud, consistent, and unified in ways that I have never seen before. It's crazy, but refreshing to see!

So true man. It’s like people coming out of the wood work to say their piece and to stand up against this take over. I love it and am so happy to see it!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @intothewild! You received a personal award!

Thank you for the witness votes you made to support your Steem community and for keeping the Steem blockchain decentralized

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63348.66
ETH 2668.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78