You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The visualization of the ideal Internet Ecosystem

in #steem6 years ago

Hi Joy

A very interesting comment. Would you mind me asking you a question?

Out of curiosity; what would that change?
Do you not think there would be some around us who would still find a way to get all the monies without putting out nearly as much work as all the others?

I'm just curious because most votes are worth (roughly) between 1 cent and .01 cent...
What is it about some votes being worth more that you feel isn't quite right?

I just can't really imagine how each vote could be worth 1 cent for more than a second before it either went to 0 or 2, especially in a decentralized system! ^^

Is it just wishful thinking for more equality in the world/on the internet?

Sort:  

I really like your response @imp.unity, I been thinking in the same direction too... what would it change...? the question is indeed interesting...

If views were to get monetizied, I can see so many problems that would create... like click-baiting for the sake of views, also should there be 'viewing awards'? are people going to increase spam and also asking for views? Ultimately I think this would hurt the quality of the content.

Also if the value of 1 vote is a set price, what will keep people powering their accounts and keeping STEEM on the platform? There are so many things to consider... I dont see a way to fulfill your wish...

And no, I was not here when steem was $10.

Great question. There was a post today with 358 votes bit only made .57 cents. If each vote was at least worth a penny. It is not encouraging to the minnows or quality content providers.
Joy

Loading...

@ankapolo You definitely see where I was going with this. :)
Yup, Steemit is not a utopian project. It's just another cool new facet of reality for all of us to interact on, build consensus, share thoughts, memes, ideas, creations... It's a place for us to congregate, convene, discuss, explore, support each other...

The Steem blockchain is frickin' awesome.
And Steemit is great.
Not perfect...
Great!

Great question. There was a post today with 358 votes bit only made .57 cents. If each vote was at least worth a penny. It is not encouraging to the minnows or quality content providers.
Joy

well, take YT for example, 'thumbs up' - the real indicator of content appreciation, is worth 0. While you need thousands of views and over 2000 followers to even start making any money. Yet everyday new users join and jump through all the necessary hoops to succeed (with less freedom to express themselves and greater competition)... and yet they don't need any encouragement or incentives. So why should people expect that here?

I never bought my way to the platform (i would if i could), but i started from 15 steem and (25) rep like most users here. Whatever I made so far, for better or worse, is from my own effort. I've helped other people too, who I felt could use some help, advice, etc. But this is all a user can do here... we support each other, but have different capacities to do so...

Also content is not everything, social interaction is currency - just as my diagrams points. It's important to reach out, and not only from a position of scarcity ('what is missing'), but from a position of abundance -('I can contribute'). Hopefully this will be the philosophy that dominates this platform... but since we come from a world of scarcity, we also bring scarcity to where we go.

Still, your question and the desire for everyone to do better is very valid, and i often think about 'what ifs' myself...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60030.46
ETH 2413.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43