You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If You Use Upvote Services Please Read These Two Posts

in #steem7 years ago

Bots, are a tool that we all agree it is abused. And we will also agree that most bots are garbage.

So bots are used for bad. And yet they can be used for good.

It is a unique form of advertisement that not only gives you exposure but also pays you back. And for the latter part it is being abused.

And it gives you exposure in a predictable and systematic way. This way you can gradually grow your audience and blog and have an extra monetary incentive to put those extra hours until a bot vote is no longer relevant or needed. And all that combined with massive interaction in the platform, commenting , helping out and all the good stuff.

I'd rather depend on a system than a generous vote that may or may not come. I'd rather get a vote from big or small fish that actually likes my content and not because they think I need it.

The way to go with bots is not ban them but push a hard as we can to improve service and try as much to mitigate abusers.

Or we could suggest another system. But whatever system we suggest I am afraid that there will always be abusers. And I am also pretty certain that those with big money will get the biggest piece of the pie whatever we do.

These are my two steem cents , hope I have contributed to the conversation with another perspective.

Sort:  

Personally, I don't think you can fix the bot services. They have been created on faulty foundations, and make the system progressively more imbalanced then it already is.

I would go for option number b "suggest another system.", one that for example your post gets promoted in a special area (like ads in google) that is actually visible (unlike the currently promoted area of steemit) but the sbd you spend actually get burned or donated to cancer research or something :P

Yes , the other system is something like facebook or google.
Bots have better ROI for the time being, so I don't see it happening. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59203.63
ETH 2522.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51