Creating Good Content VS Spamming The Blockchain

in #steem5 years ago

SPAM3GoodContent.jpg

I have always been a firm believer that anything I post to the STEEM blockchain better be worth reading because it is permanent! Often times I will come up with an idea for something just to end up scrapping it later- not because the idea wasn't worth discussing or exploring, but because I felt like I would not do it justice in that moment. Either I don't have all of the components together sometimes or simply don't feel like putting an hour or two (at least) into writing, proof-reading, photo editing, posting and then promoting my work.

When I first joined Steemit I saw a lot of the popular bloggers posting daily, and multiple times at that. Their audiences seemed to eat it up and the votes came pouring in. Consistency is what seems to work on this platform... in frequency not necessarily in quality as I soon realized that much of this voting was being done by automation and by bots. The attention and money came at a cost to the authors too. Many of them pumping delegations and crypto into the system to churn out a small return on investment when all was said and done. Over time the attention on this platform faded along with the prices and now it has become a virtual ghost town.

These "fluffed up" posts inflated the expectations of new bloggers and actually deceived them by making them think that they too could start earning vast sums on their genius thoughts once magically transcribed onto the blockchain. Like printing money some believed, or so it seemed. In reality, becoming quite popular on Steemit takes a little more effort than most are willing to give. It requires actual hard work, dedication, repetition, drive, passion, networking, skillful communication, and a constant ability to learn and adapt. The people who are earning the most on here, by bots and delegation or not, didn't get there by chance- they got there by continually creating new content.

moneyBox.jpg

Every author works at their own pace I guess you could say. Some people are able to write a masterpiece every day, like @chbartist who pumps out liquid gold daily. Others like myself may go days, weeks or even months without writing so much as a single paragraph only to suddenly emerge from the void with an in depth piece when least expected. I try not to compare myself too much to others because everyone is different; I will never be exactly like someone else and I'm certainly not foolish enough to believe that I will ever be as talented or intelligent as the best. What I am is myself and that works just fine for me.

If anything I am helping to reduce the spam on the blockchain by selectively posting these days rather than aiming to do a daily post simply to milk the rewards system. The more posts someone makes, I feel, the less likely people are going to look at all of them. Not because we aren't interested in content creators but because time is precious and we only have so much of it. You have to be very careful about how and where you spend it! This means not sifting through piles of blockchain spam posts in order to curate content you might enjoy. As the old saying goes "Quality over quantity."

It is actually quite hard to create posts that are engaging, entertaining and informative. Because of this some people go the easy route and take advantage of their reputations or followings by posting low-effort content, knowing that most of their votes will be auto-votes anyways. Many have really just given into the fact that very few are actually reading through the entirety of these posts and even less are engaging. Ironically on free social media platforms you get interactions for days but you can hardly get a comment that isn't from a bot when STEEM prices are low here.

DollarBill.jpg

It will be a miracle if anyone actually read through the entirety of this post in fact so if you made it this far congratulations you officially have an attention span greater than a gold fish! If you just jumped to the bottom to upvote me then you might just be part of the problem, but who am I to judge- upvote away!

*Never invest more than you are willing to lose and always do your own research before making any investment decisions. I am NOT a financial advisor and this is NOT financial advice- this material is intended for entertainment and informational purposes only.
(All pictures are free domain images created by myself with the help of snappygoat.com)

Sort:  

Automation of votes and people not reading articles is definitely a huge problem. When I first started on Steemit I was delving into many posts a day, but as time has gone on I find myself with less and less time to be able to engage meaningfully. When I first started on Steemit, I had many people engaging my posts. Now, I’m lucky to get much engagement without joining a contest. Engaging the community while having semi-frequent posts, I think is the best way to use this platform. The part about people not reading articles I combat by using videos while only authoring written articles periodically.

Exactly! The activity and engagement has closely followed the price of the token. As it falls people are less incentivized to blog because the rewards are going down (short-term view) whereas investors realize the potential of sticking it out and earning the tokens regardless of price.

I have yet to create any videos but who knows what the future holds...

Dear @hotsauceislethal

Interesting choice of topic and definetly good read.

You're definetly touching a very important topic, related to quality of our content.

inflated the expectations of new bloggers and actually deceived them by making them think that they too could start earning vast sums on their genius thoughts once magically transcribed onto the blockchain

At the end of the day, everyone who would come here because of money and in hope of earning for living here - will be disappointed. Those who would focus on building business contacts will stay.

The people who are earning the most on here, by bots and delegation or not, didn't get there by chance- they got there by continually creating new content.

In my personal view, the most important is to be able to find people with similar interest and engage with them. Make them remember you. That will increase chance of your content being consumed more than anything else. Quality of content matters, but not as much as building relationships. That's at least my own impression.

ps.
I officially have an attention span greater than a gold fish :) yeyeye. to tell you the truth - I seriously enjoyed.

Yours
Piotr

Thank you I really appreciate the feedback, now I just need to find a way to reach out to a greater audience.
Any suggestions for me to start finding more readers? Other than just going out and posting on their blogs of course.

Loading...

great content will always find its way just like you did today with this post

Takes time and inspiration to churn out good content. Dedication is hard to cultivate but when you do it is very rewarding.

Thanks for taking the time to actually make readable content, I did actually read the whole thing, happy to know that my attention span exceeds that of a goldfish. :D

Unfortunately you're right about a lot of the things you said here, hopefully that will turn around and we the people will MAKE STEEM GREAT AGAIN!

I feel like there are a lot of people here on the platform that want to see change yet don't want to do anything about it directly themselves. Hypocrisy is what it really is because they want to be the direct beneficiaries without contributing.

We all need to do our parts and spread the word about STEEM to people who we think will be able to benefit from it. I know a couple of people with YouTube channels and I have told them about Steemit. They both seemed interested and one of them even read my post last week commenting that it was really interesting.

Had one buddy sign up recently who I had met through and online game and he is waiting for account verification. So once we can get better onboarding processes then we should see a surge in users and interest in STEEM- Now is definitely the accumulation phase.

that's a true, i did content for people because im a content creator before steemit only that i never blogged or recorded a video before, but when you talk about comments and feedback it's true, sometimes we don't get to much feedback on our post, sometimes yes, and when you start to actually interact and be part of mates that they want to bring life to plattform then you will actually giving steps to achieve a higher audience, but at least for me i had two months doing a strategy to set my mind focused, that are daily manifestos,

of course i had my principal Niche that are my own songs and just now i started playing SM and be more present on the moves, as the #gratitudechallengue that was a good way of actually refresh my mind a go on rewind to this two years of evolution here.

Quality before quantity, if what you post makes you a better human being or had a mision, a vision and you're acting, then good for me. nice reading, also will check out that daily blogger that worth gold (:

It's amazing what a little financial incentive can do to motivate people. Yes chbartist is a great author and he has some really inspirational posts.

Good post, even me I decided to follow the route of quality instead quantity. Time is precious and believe I would get more engagement with a few quality posts.

Posted using Partiko Android

Regardless of how much time you spend on a post it really boils down to content and user engagement. Finding the people to read the content is the hard part but once we can explore new methods of reaching larger audiences we should start to see this become easier.

Hi @hotsauceislethal!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.139 which ranks you at #3377 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 12 places in the last three days (old rank 3389).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 152 contributions, your post is ranked at #69.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

silly boy! Of course I'm smarter than a gold fish.... I think. You know what rule works for me, If i dare comment, I better have read or watched that post. But i'll upvote things I don't view fully all the time but if I comment, I read or watched the post. So many do not. It's so fake and see through.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73